Interview: Vicki Batman

Welcome Vicki Batman, author of the Hattie Cooks mysteries!

TemporarilyInsane_w10205_300 cover 19What’s your idea of a perfect day?

I actually love driving around with Handsome. He takes the wheel and we explore different places nearby or we drive to Colorado for a week. I like the winding roads, looking for animals and interesting sites. Eating whenever and whatever. Just relaxing with him.

Do you have a signature accessory, color, fragrance, phrase/expression, or meal?

I love handbags and have a bunch. Every Monday, I feature mine or someone else’s on my blog, Handbags, Books…Whatever. I say “rats” a lot. And hamburgers are my favorite food.

Which books/authors inspired or influenced you the most?

I first blurted to Handsome that I wanted to write like Dick Francis. Then along came Janet E and I found my funny.

Do you listen to music when you write?

I do, particularly classical guitar. No words to mess with my head. AND I love this kind of music.

If your latest book were chocolate, what kind would it be and why?

I think dark chocolate covered caramels. Dark for the mystery and caramels for the ooey gooey trouble my heroine gets into.

What made you interested in writing this particular story?

Temporarily Insane is a second in the Hattie Cooks mystery series. I liked the characters so much I had to keep writing.

What themes do you regularly (re)visit in your writing?

People are not what they seem.

Tell us about your main character.

Hattie Cooks has lost her dream job working as a buyer for a department store chain (yes, like me). Thanks to a friend, she takes temporary jobs until the right buying job comes along, which is going to be tough as she lives in a small town; however, she has been offered a job in New York City. But will she leave her family and the man who makes her heart go thumpa-thumpa, Detective Allan Wellborn? Trouble always seems to come her way at the various employment places. She has a domineering mom, full of “lectures,” an engineer dad, a younger sister, a best friend, extended family, and a snarky roomie.

Describe your protagonist as a mash-up of three famous people or characters.

This question always stumps me. I really have nothing. 😞

If you could host a mystery-author dinner party, who are the six writers (living or otherwise) you’d include?

Dick Francis, Janet E, Mary Stewart, Elizabeth George, Sue Grafton, and P. D. James.

What’s next for you?

I’ve roughed two new romantic comedy short stories as I write a ton of those as well as the romantic comedy mysteries. And I’m working on Temporarily Out of Luck, book three.

*****

Award-winning and Amazon best-selling author, Vicki Batman, has sold many romantic comedy works to magazines, several publishers, and most recently, two romantic comedy mysteries to The Wild Rose Press. She is a member of Romance Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, and several writing groups. An avid Jazzerciser. Handbag lover. Mahjong player. Yoga practitioner. Movie fan. Book devourer. Chocoholic. Best Mom ever. And adores Handsome Hubby. Most days begin with her hands set to the keyboard and thinking “What if??”

Website: http://vickibatman.blogspot.com/p/more-about-me.html
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Vicki-Batman-sassy-writer-of-sexy-and-funny-fiction-133506590074451/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/VickiBatman/
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/vickibatman/
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4814608.Vicki_Batman/ 

Author Central: https://www.amazon.com/author/vickibatman
LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=116288777&trk=hb_tab_pro_top/
Plotting Princesses: http://plottingprincesses.blogspot.com
Sisterhood of Suspense: http://sistersofsuspense.com/2015/08/16/vicki-batman-sister-of-sassy-writing/

28 thoughts on “Interview: Vicki Batman”

  1. Hi Vicki, Welcome to Mysteristas. What a wonderful voice you have. Temporarily Insane sounds like a great book. I love that Hattie is torn between big love, and the Big Apple! Gotta get the book to find out which wins.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Liz! I’m hooked on Hershey’s dark chocolate covered caramels. They are about three delicious small bites or one stuff in your mouth large one. But there are other good caramels out there. I just bought some homemade ones. lol

      Like

    1. Hi, Sue! The book is available on Amazon and Nook. Give it a go and let me know what you think. I think I would be overwhelmed at that dinner party. I did go to a booksigning with Dick Francis. He liked my last name. LOLOL

      Like

    1. Hi, Pam! As you know, my year has been incredibly challenging. I’d hoped to have had Temporarily Out of Luck out sooner, but it wasn’t meant to be. I have, however, roughed out two new shorts. Thanks and hugs, my friend.

      Like

    1. Hi, mmcewenasker! I’m so glad you like the cover. The other one is red. I just knew in my head I wanted a cartoon cover. Some people don’t care for them. Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

    1. Hi, Kate! I really appreciate the comment. Besides writing funny, I have to pick the perfect funny words or descriptions. But a challenge that can be met. I’m glad you could visit today.

      Like

    1. Hi, Liese! I love Hattie too. Here’s a confession: when I married, Handsome and I were supposed to have three daughters-Holland, Hayley, and Hattie. Sadly, I got sons. LOLOL. They really are great guys and I didn’t have to mess with hairbows or pantyhose. Hugs!

      Like

    1. Hi, Keenanpowell! I had the dream job but had to leave and I really didn’t want to. But if I hadn’t, would I have met Handsome? Would my life be like it is? Probably not. So looking back, I wouldn’t change a thing. Thank you for visiting with me today.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Angela! I’m glad you like her. She has some life challenges thrown her way that we don’t ordinarily get and thus, grows. She’s not ditsy at all. Sometimes, life is messy and we have to work through those situations. Many hugs.

      Like

  2. Hi, thanks for “visiting. ” I love handbags as well, and I make a lot myself. I make them withe lots of storage compartments inside so that the “stuff” I carry can each have its own little pocket — phone, tablet, CANDY, note pad, makeup, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. sounds very interesting. Just “liked” your Facebook page (Katie Caprero) so we’ll connect on Facebook always and forever. (Well, perhaps just when we want to gripe about something just like most people on Facebook)

        Like

Leave a Reply

