It’s a Family Affair.

If it wasn’t for the support of my daughter and son-in-law, and if it wasn’t for the understanding, patience and encouragement of my grandchildren, I wouldn’t be able to participate in the mystery community.

I’ve been giving a great deal of thought to this while I work on my acknowledgements for the DEADLY SOLUTION, which I think has a longer word count than the first chapter. At first, I thought: who am I going to acknowledge? I wrote it. I researched it. Where is everyone when I’m pounding on the keyboard day and night.

Indulging me, that’s where they are. And there is loving support from all over the mystery community for new writers. I’m sure there is an element of competition; I’m neither young nor naïve. But I don’t see it with the writers I’ve had the privilege of knowing.

So in this season of giving thanks, I am thankful for my genetically-related family, who put up with me and read for me, for my Alaskan family, those friends I’ve come to know in the past three decades, you know who you are, even the legal community who provides so much fodder for drama and comedy, and the editors and the beta readers and the publishers and all those agents and publishers that rejected my work but took the time to tell me why.

And my high school English teacher who told me I should write. She could have just been trying to keep me occupied so I wouldn’t talk to the guy sitting behind me, but I took her seriously.

Thanks to you all.

Mysteristas, what about you — who pushed, pulled, and/or supported you in this crazy adventure?

 

 

9 thoughts on “It’s a Family Affair.”

  1. My parents were, of course, the “main” driving force for me, but I my grandmother Emma (my father’s mother) was the one who gave my dad a huge “push” down the adventure of life, according to him.

    Emma was the first to graduate from college in a time when women did not go to college. She became a teacher when only single women could teach; she had to quite when she got married. Then, married at an “elderly” age, she gave birth to my dad when she was almost 40 (and we think a first time mom at 30 is old. She eventually had 3 more boys)

    Since my dad was the oldest, she was excited for him to go to school. They lived on a farm, and school was “far away” in the little town, and it was all day. In the weeks before he started school, she prepared him by packing his lunch pail every day, and she sat with him as he ate lunch from his pail. He knew he would like school because it was going to be one long picnic.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I did; I don’t remember a lot about her since she died when I was young (she was an “older” mom so therefore a “very old” grandma. One family dinner thing I remember is that when the family met for holidays, Grandma Emma always made “potato salad” between the noon meal and the evening meal by using what ever was left from lunch. She took the left over mashed potatoes, chopped celery, chopped carrots, deviled eggs, pickles, chopped up scalloped potatoes, onions, olives, all the stuff left that people brought for lunch, and mixed it together with mayo and mustard and probably other secret stuff. The result was fabulous and different each time. We grand-kids LOVED it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. “I’ve been giving a great deal of thought to this while I work on my acknowledgements for the DEADLY SOLUTION, which I think has a longer word count than the first chapter.” Love it.

    If I ever have to write an acknowledgements, I am only going to name a few people by name–because there is no way I’d be able to remember everyone. From the members of Sisters in Crime, to my critique group, to family, to all of you at Mysteristas…I owe a debt of gratitude to all of you.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This is so lovely! It really does take a village, doesn’t it? I’ve experienced more of a tough love or outright nay-saying experience. I had to protest my junior year’s composition teacher’s decision to not allow me into senior honors English classes (having always taken all honors classes, I was confused). I got in, and I did well – it was college freshman comp class offered at my high school. One of my grad school professors did not let me get away with any laziness, and pushed me constantly; it was definitely tough love at times. I’m so grateful for the expectations, but I never thought I could actually be a writer. Hubby is always a brilliant cheerleader when I’ve got something to share.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve been out of town, but had to chime in and say DITTO! So many people have supported and cajoled and provided good role models along the way. I honestly don’t think anyone could do this alone. And if they do, they sure won’t have as much fun!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

