The Good List

It’s 5pm on Sunday night as I’m drafting this blog post. My husband is watching football; my kids are running around outside. I am far from the paths of any storms. In fact, the weather is stunning — sunny, yet cool and dry. Sometimes, it feels tough to enjoy it while others are hunkering down in a hurricane, or rebuilding from one. It also isn’t lost on me that this post will go up on 9/11.

I saw a tweet a few days ago in which the poster was trying to reassure everyone that it’s okay to disconnect. That humans are not capable of dealing with so much sorrow at once. It’s a bit of wisdom I have taken to heart. Granted, I am able to — my privilege is not lost on me. However, I thought it beneficial to compose a list of things that bring me joy. Things that I cannot glean from Twitter or Facebook or Politico. It’s a simple exercise, not so much about gratitude, which I feel, but about simple joys. The small things that keep me afloat when the world is full of despair. Because it’s okay to feel good even when so many don’t.

giphy

In no particular order…

  • Season 3 of Narcos
  • Bike riding with my 7-year-old
  • Binge watching Broadchurch
  • All British crime drama, see above
  • Strawberry shoestring licorice
  • Going to see my favorite band perform live (see ya in Brooklyn, Afghan Whigs)
  • Finding a gem at a consignment store (like-new Tod’s loafers)
  • A 4-mile jog
  • Anything written by Maggie Stiefvater; anything written by Holly Black
  • When my 3-year-old dresses herself
  • When the neighbors build a campfire
  • Roasting S’mores (see above)
  • Lunch without my kids
  • The perfect cup of coffee
  • Writing a really wonderful scene
  • Dismantling a plot hole
  • A lovely book review of my own work
  • Book sales!
  • Fall TV! See: You’re the Worst, Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, Shameless
  • A good night’s sleep
  • When my 5-year-old cracks a joke
  • When my husband brings home dinner

There are so many other things to add to this list, but I’d rather not bore you with mine. Go write one of your own. In the meantime, I’m gonna blow this Internet stand and enjoy something on that list.

What would be on your list?

Author: Kimberly G. Giarratano

I'm a YA author. And mom of 3. I'm also tired. Very, very tired.

12 thoughts on “The Good List”

  1. Great post, Kimberly. It’s definitely important to remember happy things when faced with so much sadness. Football season, tree leaves changing color, and Halloween are on my list, basically all things related to fall 🙂 Oh, and a new Sarah J. Maas book! Have you read any of her stuff yet?? I’m also looking forward to Maggie Stiefvater’s new book!

    Like

    1. I might be the only YA reader who hasn’t tackled SJM yet. I will, though. I want to read her stuff. I reviewed All the Crooked Saints for BookPage so I got to read it early. It’s mighty good.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post, Kimberly! I don’t know why but it makes me cry. Here’s some of the things on my list: the first cup of coffee of the day, when the 12 year old grandson who now lives with me says something funny, cat videos on Facebook, goat videos on Facebook, imagining how I would paint the cloudscape I see on the drive to grandson’s school if I had time to paint.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OK I absolutely agree;, haven’t started season 3 of Narcos yet but will soon; absolutely did binge watch “Broadchurch;” sold my bike a few years ago after I fell off and broke my arm; and am sitting here with my favorite coffee from whole beans that I have shipped to my door from the supplies. Yes, many, many, many times life is good. Just take a deep breath and enjoy life — whatever it brings.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are gonna love Narcos S3. It’s the best by far. I’m gonna get started on Season 2 of Broadchurch. I was so hesitant to watch it since the idea of a dead boy didn’t sit well with me, but it was really well done.

      Like

  4. Oh, man. Thank you. I have a bonus son recovering from a stroke, a two-week vacation cancelled, and an elderly (101-year-old) grandmother of said bonus son taking it very hard. Top of my gratitude list right now? Too many things to count, but you reminded me of them. xoxoxoxoxoxoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

