Dancing for the General

I’m very pleased to announce my latest release, Dancing for the General.

Dancing for the General-Web

It’s the story of an American woman in Ankara, Turkey in 1957.  The mystery of her missing fiancé pulls her into a murder investigation and a plot for revolution to unseat the government.  She doesn’t know whom to trust–her American colleagues, who struggle to do their jobs during the Cold War; the Turkish detective, who’s caught between his duty to uphold the law and his loyalty to Ataturk’s ideals; or the general who lives next door and will end the chaos one way or another.

The story behind the story:   This book has been fermenting at the back of my mind for many years while I’ve written other projects.  I’ve crashed at least 2 computers with drafts of this book, and research materials for this single project occupy almost half of my entire office.  Goodness knows how many trees I’ve personally destroyed with my reams of notes.  To see the mess on my desk finally transform into the real shape of a book feels like a vindication (shout out to this month’s theme!)  This is my tenth book, and it never gets any easier or any less sweet.

It’s available now from your favorite bookseller as either a trade paperback or an e-book, and soon it will become available as an audio book as well.

13 thoughts on “Dancing for the General”

  1. Sounds fantastic, Sue. My husband was stationed in Turkey for thirty-six months in the late 1980s. He often talks about his time there–martial law was in effect for much of it. I’m looking forward to reading Dancing for the General. Wasn’t Ataturk responsible for what we know as modern Turkey?

    Like

  2. Sue, the cover is gorgeous! Congratulations and happy book birthday! I just remembered my father spent two weeks in Turkey on a training trip for the Army. He brought me back a gorgeous scarf and lots of stories (for example, the didn’t demand the American women cover in public as long as they were in uniform and accompanied by at least one man of any rank – even if the woman was an officer).

    Like

  3. Peg, I lived there as a child during those times and was fascinated watching the events unfold that eventually led to the first coup by Ataturk’s generals.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

