In search of vindication

So, it’s August and we have a new theme. It’s Wednesday, and I’m thinking “what am I going to write this time?” Because, well, brain cramp.

I realize, I could really get some vindication in the next month. Problem is, it’s not exactly the kind I want.

I’m working on one of “those” projects at the day job. To sum up, we used to do The Thing one way, then we changed our minds and said The Thing was going to be done a new way. Being the person responsible for The Thing, I approved the new way. Except…

People are pitching a fit. They have to meet customer expectations and the new way of doing The Thing doesn’t really work for them. So go back, do The Thing the old way, and then we’ll customize it per client. Oh, and this decision will result in N versions of The Thing, all of which are different and will totally compromise quality and version control (which in this particular case, falls to me as the owner of The Thing).

I can see where this is headed. This will come back to bite us in the…you know. I have issued the warnings. I don’t have any clout, so I’ve been overruled. Only a matter of time before the whole thing blows up; I’ve seen it happen in other jobs. When it does, I guess I’ll be vindicated. Not really what I’m going for here.

On the home front, both kids have summer reading because–high school. For The Girl this is A Piece Of Cake. She loves to read, she is super organized, and a bit obsessive about her grades. All is well.

The Boy is the exact opposite. He has two books and one novella (“The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde”) to read as well as something called “a double-entry journal” to turn in by September 1 (he returns to school on August 31.”

So far this summer he has gone on two trips for Boy Scouts, worked, and played a lot of basketball. I essentially tortured him into reading one book before his last trip. He is maybe 50% through the novella. I figured I’d get him to read the darn books, then worry about what the…heck a “double entry journal” is.

But yesterday, I found out. He has to pull ten quotes from each book and answer 2-3 questions about each quote. This, ladies and gentlemen, is A Lot Of Work for a kid who Does Not Like To Read. Every day, I remind him this needs to be done. We’ve pulled ten quotes from the first book. He has six from “Dr. Jekyll.” Every day, his response is, “Don’t worry, Mom. I’ll get it done.” Usually said as he traipses out the door.

He has less than a month. He thinks it is plenty of time. It is less time than he realizes. I’ve seen this movie too. Where the kid blithely ignores Mom’s advice, doesn’t get the work done, and winds up with a failing grade as a result.

Again – vindication for me. Again – not really the kind I’m going for.

But, you know – maybe I’m wrong. Maybe it’ll all turn out.

Maybe pigs will fly.

Ever been on the receiving end of the wrong kind of vindication?

Author: Liz Milliron

Liz Milliron has been making up stories, and creating her own endings for other people's stories, for as long as she can remember. She's worked for fifteen years in the corporate world, but finds making things up is far more satisfying than writing software manuals. A lifelong mystery fan, her short fiction has been published in online magazines Uppagus and Mysterical-e. She has also had stories included in Lucky Charms: 12 Crime Tales, Blood on the Bayou (the 2016 Bouchercon anthology), Fish Out of Water, and Mystery Most Historical. She is a past president of the Pittsburgh chapter of Sisters in Crime. Visit her online at http://lizmilliron.com, find her on Facebook at https://facebook.com/LizMilliron, or follow her on Twitter (@LizMilliron).

14 thoughts on “In search of vindication”

  1. Once upon a time, I was a lowly associate at a the Anchorage law firm, Weidner & Associates. My job was to write appeals briefs, one right after another. I complained that my name was never going on the brief so I was not racking up recognition in the cases I won. So one day, the boss said my name could go on the brief. It was a 9th circuit appeal about a bank that went bust. In my defense, those were the days that I worked the cases I was assigned in exchange for a salary.

    This is the conclusion the appellate court reached: “However one looks at this case, it is quite apparent that upon discovering the imminent demise of the bank, Hoffman and the Board took steps to enhance their own positions. Hoffman suggests that he actually helped the bank when he arranged an early buy out of his employment contract. That contention can hardly be taken seriously. The idea that bleeding an afflicted bank is beneficial to it is an attempt to resurrect at law a practice which the medical profession has happily abandoned.”

    And then my boss said, “Sure glad my name isn’t on that brief.”

    Liked by 3 people

    1. As the mother of a teen, here are a few of my least favorite quotes from her: “Mom, I’m handling it.” “Mom, I know what I’m doing.” “Mom, I’ll get it done.” I vacillate between wary relief and the frustrated told-you-so of unwelcome vindication.

      Liked by 3 people

  2. My palms got all sweaty reading that, Liz. Like Keenan I love my empty nest because I had two voracious readers and one not-so-much. Two things turned him around, though. One, he got bumped into an AP English class he almost got kicked out of. I thought he’d be relieved, but no, there was this girl in there so he fought to stay, realizing he couldn’t charm his way any longer and needed to do the work. And two, maturity and fewer distractions. There’s hope for your reluctant reader.

    As far as my vindication, my middle son, one of the voracious readers, refused to play the school game so we homeschooled him starting in, I think, 7th grade. When I say ‘homeschooled’ don’t think for one minute I did anything. Turns out, he was really an autodidact, which I didn’t realize until we read Moby Dick. We’d read a few chapters, I’d study the Cliff Notes, and we’d talk about it. One day, when we were about halfway through he told me he’d finished it. I scoffed then quizzed him, asking all the hard questions in the Cliff Notes. Not only did he read it, he READ it, digested it, understood it on a cellular level, and spat it back out so I could understand it!

    I got my comeuppance, he got vindication and I never worried about his education again.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Becky, sometimes the influence of the girl is a good thing! The really annoying thing is The Boy is a “good” reader and readily absorbs what he reads. He’d just rather be doing anything else. Now if he had summer math homework, this would be a breeze.

      Moby Dick? I’m impressed. I had to read it in one week for a graduate class in college and despised every second of it. As soon as I could, I purged my memory banks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

