VENI, VIDI, VICI by Kait Carson (with thanks to Julius Caesar)

This year my goal has been to try new things, take different paths and see where they lead me as a writer, a paralegal and as a person. One of those paths has lead me full circle back to the 1960s and my days of meditation.

Meditation is making a huge comeback. It’s been retooled and updated, and now it’s called mindfulness, but no matter what you call it, the concept is the same. My New Year’s gift to myself was to purchase an app called Headspace. I did the intro, and when I got to the part where I could select my own bundles, I opted for thirty days of creativity training.

What in the Sam Hill, you might ask does this have to do with our theme of vindication? How does one go from mindfulness to vindication? Easy peasy as my Fitbit tells me daily when I make my step goal. Last night I struggled with what to possibly write about the topic of vindication. This morning, before work, I fit in my ten minutes of meditation, freed my mind, let it roam, and at the end of the session, bright as neon lights, the words Veni Vidi, Vici were dancing before my eyes. They looked like some kind of ancient Latin Vegas kick line après a visit from Bacchus. It was kind of fun to watch, to tell the truth.

In fact, I realized, that’s the perfect description of the three-act structure.

I came: Meet the protagonist, set up the story, introduce the characters, stir the pot and see what happens.

I saw: Watch the plot begin to boil. Here’s where the action happens, the true story. Everything comes together. The protagonist is gathering clues, chasing red herrings, weighing the evidence, seeing what works, discarding what doesn’t.

I conquered: The story comes together, the protagonist has the story well in hand, the end is in sight and the goal accomplished.

Veni, Vidi, Vici. An outline in three words. To quote another Ceasarism – Alea jacta est. The die is cast, the outline has begun!

What do you think writers and readers, have I crossed the Rubicon or have I welcomed Brutus into my storytelling army?

Author: kaitcarson

I write mysteries set in South Florida. The Hayden Kent series is set in the Florida Keys. Hayden is a SCUBA diving paralegal who keeps finding bodies. Underwater, no one can hear you scream! Catherine Swope is a Miami Realtor with a penchant for finding bodies in the darndest places. I live in an airpark in Fort Denaud, FL with my husband, six cats and three birds. And oh yes, a Piper Cherokee 6 in the hangar!

26 thoughts on “VENI, VIDI, VICI by Kait Carson (with thanks to Julius Caesar)”

    1. It’s guided and available on all sorts of platforms. I have it on my laptop and on my iPhone. I use a headset (or earbuds) on both applications to make it even more private. There’s a free trial that I started out with just to be sure I liked it–and I did. Getting back to meditation (mindfulness) felt like taking a deep breath. Give it a try.

      Like

  1. Love your post, Kait! Et non inveniam viam aut faciam–my school motto, is a mantra I have used all my life: “I shall find a way or make one.” And that is exactly what a good protagonist or author must do, right?

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Absolutely! Isn’t it amazing how all that Latin we struggled through actually DID prove useful – unlike calculus. I’m still waiting for calculus to have a use in my life. I don’t think it’s happening.

      Like

  2. That’s some great imagery! And to add to your Latin theme, when the kids were in high school, they made their dad a plaque with our “family crest” and a fancy-looking fake Latin phrase: Non Reclinar Est, Constructus Patri.

    [Don’t lean on that, Dad made it.]

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Terrific post, Kait. My sister has been trying to get me to try meditation. If it will help inspire me to write a second book, I should give it a try.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Grace, you should try it. The first 30 days of this program are all about building the foundation. In the second 30 you can select the creativity set or something else entirely. It amazes me how effective the technique is. I have three more days left in this set, I eager to see what other related (or more advanced creativity sets are available) or perhaps now that I have a good handle on the technique, I may repeat the set to hone the skills.

      Like

Leave a Reply

