Famous Americans, no–––––––––> Brits

I can’t say that I’ve felt personally influenced by Britain since the Fab Four and Twiggy, but here’s a list of Brits that part of me wants to claim as American:

  • Stephen Hawking
  • Alexander Graham Bell
  • Cat Stevens
  • Florence Nightingale
  • Rudyard Kipling
  • Cary Grant
  • Peter Sellers
  • Minnie Driver
  • Elizabeth Taylor
  • Alfred Hitchcock
  • Eric Clapton
  • H.G. Wells
  • George Orwell
  • Catherine Zeta-Jones

Do any of those names surprise you? I mean, I suppose if I thought about each of them long enough I could say, “Oh, yeah. U.K. Definitely.”, but off the top of my head? Nope.

And here’s a random question: Why is it that when singing, all signs of an accent are gone? That’s so confusing.

Okay, and here’s this photo of a rather grumpy Prince George. Now this is truly universal.

20157194_10155339710795479_1337294855225462023_o

It’s all better with friends.

Author: Peg Brantley

With the intent to lend her stories credibility, Peg is a graduate of the Aurora Citizens’ Police Academy, attended the Writers’ Police Academy conference, has interviewed crime scene investigators, FBI agents, human trafficking experts, obtained her Concealed Carry Permit, studied diverse topics from arson dogs to Santeria, and hunted down real life locations that show up in her stories.

6 thoughts on “Famous Americans, no–––––––––> Brits”

  1. Ooh, great post, Peg! Sometimes I forget Stephen Hawking is British, and I had no idea about Hitchcock! Lol, love the grumpy George pic 😂

    Like

  2. George Orwell is the one who trips me up. 1984 is so cynical, I think it HAD to be an American writing it. And Prince George – I feel ya.

    As for singing – it depends. The Girl listens to a number of British artists where there is definitely an accent. But a lot of singers train it out of their singing voices for whatever reason. Broader appeal?

    Like

  3. Florence Nightingale surprised me. Here’s one for you: an actress with dual citizenship having been born in USA: Zoe Wanamaker. I’m thinking the nature of music and lyrics eliminates the cues we understand to be British: their idioms eliminated, their inflections turned into rock beat. Love the little Prince. Growing up in a gilded cage cannot be fun and he’s doing just fine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

