Interview: Nancy Cole Silverman

Today we welcome Nancy Cole Silverman, author of the Carol Childs mysteries!

RoomForDoubt front hi rezWhat’s your idea of a perfect day?

My idea of a perfect day would be to invite my family, including those who’ve already passed on along with those younger than me for a family reunion at my grandparents home on Bainbridge Island. It would be kind of a past-generations-meets-present generation type of thing. I used to spend summers on the island, and since my grandparents passing, those events, like the Fourth of July, our annual snipe hunt and barbecues on the beach no longer take place. They were wonderful memories, and ones I’d like to repeat with my kids and grandkids today.

Do you have a signature accessory, color, fragrance, phrase/expression, or meal?

I love the red. It’s my favorite color. I think colors have energy and like the fashion icon Bill Blass said, “When in doubt, wear red.”

Which books/authors inspired or influenced you the most?

There’s a lot. But I’ve probably been most influenced by female mystery writers. Agatha Christie, P.D. James, Sue Grafton, Patricia Cornwell, Jillian Flynn, Margaret Mitchell. And of course, my muse Dorothy Parker.

Do you listen to music when you write?

I love to listen to jazz and classical music when I write. While I’m a big Broadway musical gal, I can’t listen to show hits, or I’ll be singing along and not writing.

If your latest book were chocolate, what kind would it be and why?

It’d have to be chocolate taffy. Like taffy, there’s a lot of springs attached and things that stick to you. Sticky fingers.

What made you interested in writing this particular story?

Years ago there was an investigation within the police department involving a group of cops that handed out their own brand of justice. The LA Times had an article I clipped, like I do a lot of stories, and when the idea for this story hit, I merged some the facts from that story with mine. But there is no real similarity. The names and places have been changed to protect the innocent.

What themes do you regularly (re)visit in your writing?

Family, friendship and the importance of keeping them balanced while working. While each book is a separate case, Carol’s kids and friends are always present in an investigation in some way.

Tell us about your main character.

Carol is a reporter for a talk radio station in Los Angeles and also middle-aged, single, working mom with a teenage son in high school and a daughter who is a college freshman. Talk about a balancing act! Between work, the kids and any attempt at a social life, things get challenging.

Describe your protagonist as a mash-up of three famous people or characters

Murphy Brown/Kelsey Milhone/Stephanie Plum

If you could host a mystery-author dinner party, who are the six writers (living or otherwise) you’d include?

First off, this dinner would have to be a beach affair at what I hope will one day be my home in Santa Barbara with a view of the Pacific Ocean. On the guest list would be Dorothy Parker, Margaret Mitchell, Agatha Christie, Janet Evanovich, Sue Grafton and Daphne du Maurier. And on the menu would be lots of champagne and delicious desserts, all without calories.

What’s next for you?

I hope to continue writing the Carol Childs Mysteries and to break out a second series based on Misty Dawn, a former Hollywood Psychic to the Stars and one the characters from the Carol Childs Mysteries.

*****

Nancy author photo red shirtNancy Cole Silverman credits the fact both she and Edgar Allen Poe share the same birthday, along with her twenty-five years in talk radio, for helping her to develop an ear for storytelling. After writing everything from commercial copy to news Silverman retired from radio in 2001 to write fiction. Today, Silverman has written numerous short stories and novelettes some of which have been produced as audio books. Silverman’s new series, the Carol Childs Mysteries (Henery Press) takes place inside a busy Los Angles Radio station. Silverman lives in Los Angeles with her husband, four adult children, and thoroughly pampered standard poodle.

https://www.facebook.com/nancy.silverman.90
www.nancycolesilverman.com
nancy@nancycolesilverman.com

7 thoughts on “Interview: Nancy Cole Silverman”

  1. Great interview, Nancy! What a cool setting for a mystery; adding to my TBR list! I want to attend your dinner party on the beach 🙂

    Like

  2. Welcome, Nancy. I loved your first book, the plot, the people, the glitter and not-so-glittery of Hollywood. And now you’re releasing your fourth! Congratulations on your continued success. I need to get the whole bundle and catch up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

