A reverse British invasion

Say “British Invasion” to folks of a Certain Age, and they’ll usually think of one of two things: the Rolling Stones or the Beatles.

Disclaimer: those are the first two things I think of too, and now I don’t know if I’m of “a certain age” or just an old soul.

And yeah, I think it would be cool to see a concert of the Fab Four or the Stones in their prime, but really. I’d like to stage a reverse British invasion. This would not be a big invasion. Actually, I’m not sure it would be an invasion at all.

Because it would just be me.

I start to feel this way whenever I visit the ladies over at Jungle Red Writers and see the latest round of fabulous pictures from their trips across the Pond. Gorgeous manor houses. Beautiful gardens. The quirky fun of Portobello Road (pictures I can’t see without humming the song from “Bedknobs & Broomsticks” – there, see? I’m doing it again).

I keep seeing all these people “taking a break” from the internet or social media because “they are seeing the world through a screen instead of my eyes.”

There’s a very good reason for this. I am unlikely to get to visit any of these gorgeous places any time soon. I have two kids in private high school. One is getting ready to go off to college (I keep saying I’m not paying for it, but, well doesn’t every parent say that? Reality may turn out much differenly.)

And other bills. I’ve got a lot of those, too.

I like reading biographies of kings and queens, too. Those folks lived in opulence.

So bring on the screens, I say. Let me wallow in those luxurious pictures. The lovely flowers, the manor houses and castles from fairy tales. The verdant lands of Scotland and Ireland, with their heathery moors and moody landscapes. Bring it all on, I say.

And one person can absolutely stage an invasion, if only in her imagination…right?

Readers, what about you? Are you up for a reverse invasion?

Author: Liz Milliron

Liz Milliron has been making up stories, and creating her own endings for other people's stories, for as long as she can remember. She's worked for fifteen years in the corporate world, but finds making things up is far more satisfying than writing software manuals. A lifelong mystery fan, her short fiction has been published in online magazines Uppagus and Mysterical-e. She has also had stories included in Lucky Charms: 12 Crime Tales, Blood on the Bayou (the 2016 Bouchercon anthology), Fish Out of Water, and Mystery Most Historical. She is a past president of the Pittsburgh chapter of Sisters in Crime. Visit her online at http://lizmilliron.com, find her on Facebook at https://facebook.com/LizMilliron, or follow her on Twitter (@LizMilliron).

9 thoughts on “A reverse British invasion”

  1. I almost went once. I had a hiking trip planned with a friend of mine after having seen a documentary somewhere about the gardens in Wales. Alas, she dropped out on me. I’d love to see the art too. Hans Holbein. Sargent. And visit one or two of those quintessential villages. I think there’s an actual tour focused on villages that have been sets for murder mysteries. I imagine it’s like anything else: you could spend as much money as you wish. Stay in B&Bs or stay in castles.

    Like

  2. Imagination is the best! But really, Liz, when my kids were college-bound, I had no idea that one of them would end up in England, giving me great reasons to go visit. You never know where your kids will take you.

    Like

  3. I doubt that I will ever visit across the pond either, but I also enjoy looking at the great photos from all over. I also love to get “into that British feeling” by listening to audio books. Listening to Jamie Glover read Peter James or Gerard Doyle read Adrian McKinty is almost like being there — well not really, but as close as I am going to get right now.
    On another travel note, my daughter and I are gong to Nashville in August for the total eclipse of the sun (isn’t that a song?) and after the hour observing the “event” we will have a few more days to do other sight seeing. Now we just have to decide what else we want to do. Any suggestions?

    Like

  4. I lived in England for several years and loved it. Loved that every weekend, I could visit a different castle or historic manor house. And I loved how green everything was. I lived in the heart of Shakespeare country, and that was so inspiring.

    Like

  5. Wow, the day job really kicked my butt today. Just getting back.

    Kate & Keenan: Road trip!

    Sue: Now that’s an interesting idea. If either of my kids wind up in an interesting foreign locale, I am totally hitting them up. I’ll consider it payback for all my years of service. 🙂

    3 no 7: Do you have a favorite British reader?

    Peg: Would you believe I have NEVER seen Downton Abbey?

    Jenni: That sounds amazing. I would adore a long vacation in Shakespeare country (since I was an English major in college, I have a soft spot for the Bard).

    Like

  6. 3 no 7, not too far away are some wonderful lakes: Dale Hollow, Barkley & Kentucky, along with their Land Between the Lakes. There are interesting old iron mines and moonshine exhibits. Andrew Jackson’s place is interesting to visit, too. And you must have catfish and hush puppies while you’re there–have fun!

    Like

  7. Thanks Sue, already had Andrew Jackson on the list, so I’ll add those others to the list of things to do.
    Liz, I don’t really have a favorite British “narrator.” I just like listening to books set in the “UK” when they are read in their “native language.” HA

    Like

Leave a Reply

