Interview: Vickie Fee

Please give a warm Mysteristas welcome to Vickie Fee, author of the Liv and Di in Dixie mysteries!

One fete In The Grave 200pxWhat’s your idea of a perfect day?

Currently, any day I’m not on deadline! In general, any day that includes coffee time, chatting with a friend time, reading time, and time with my husband. And, in my fantasy version, I’d also whip out four or five thousand words on my next manuscript in less than an hour!

Do you have a signature accessory, color, fragrance, phrase/expression, or meal?

My signature accessory when I leave the house is shoes; I never wear them at home. My signature expression is “fixing to.” I’m always fixin’ ta do something—because I’m Southern, I suppose.

Which books/authors inspired or influenced you the most?

Nancy Drew and Miss Marple books planted the seeds of mystery writing that eventually blossomed into my own mystery series. I was a pretty late bloomer, though.

Do you listen to music when you write?

Usually not, but when I do it’s either instrumental or lyrics sung in a language I don’t speak, like Gaelic or Icelandic. I don’t like other words competing with the voices in my head while I’m writing!

If your latest book were chocolate what kind would it be and why?

Sweet and slightly salty, with an assortment of nuts. Because that describes the town of Dixie, Tennessee perfectly.

What made you interested in writing this particular story?

The friendship between Liv and Di was really the impetus for the series. It began with the idea of two women in a small Southern town—best friends, who are different from each other in many ways, but who complement each other. They share the same quirky sense of humor and fondness for daiquiris and margaritas, and a stubborn determination to track down killers when someone they care about is suspected of murder. Liv and Di are always there for each other through all the funny, and occasionally dangerous, situations they get themselves into.

What themes do you regularly (re)visit in your writing?

The ties that bind—family and friendship. And, of course, murder.

Tell us about your main character.

Liv McKay is a party planner extraordinaire, with a bad habit of stumbling over bodies—but a knack for stumbling across killers. Her husband, Larry Joe, is hard-working and long-suffering, with dimples to die for, and her best friend, Di Souther, is a mail carrier by day and, in her off hours, Liv’s partner in crime solving.

Describe your protagonist as a mash-up of three famous people or characters.

I’ve described Liv and Di, my protagonist/narrator and her best friend/partner in crime solving, as a little bit Lucy and Ethel and a little bit Thelma and Louise. Liv would be Lucy and Louise. And I’d throw in Samantha Stevens from Bewitched, because as a party planner extraordinaire Liv comes close to performing magic at times to make her parties come off well, despite crazy clients and unforeseen circumstances.

If you could host a mystery-author dinner party, who are the six writers (living or otherwise) you’d include?

Agatha Christie, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Frances Brody, Carolyn Hart, Anne George, and Mildred Wirt Benson (the original Carolyn Keene). And me, of course, but that makes seven. I guess we could press Sir Arthur into service as a waiter.

What’s next for you?

I’m fixing to turn in the manuscript for Book 4 in the Liv & Di in Dixie series, Til Death Do Us Party. The Dixie gang travels to Las Vegas for Mama and Earl’s rockin’ Elvis-themed wedding, while Liv juggles a bachelorette party for Mama and a problem-plagued soirée back home. Mama and Earl’s happily-ever-after seems like a sure thing, but all bets (and nuptials) are off when they get to the Burning Love Wedding Chapel. Their Elvis-impersonating minister has left the building…permanently. And worse, Liv’s cousin, Little Junior, is suspected of his murder. With Mama’s happy ending on the table and Little Junior about to lose it all, the stakes are higher than ever. Liv and Di must hit the Strip to find the real killer before he finally plays his ace…

*****

Vickie Fee blesses hearts and makes Jack Daniels whiskey balls that’ll scorch your tonsils. The third entry in the Liv and Di in Dixie series, One Fete in the Grave, was just released, and is set at the annual Dixie Fourth of July festival. A shady town councilman gets taken out of the picture and Mama’s fiancé, Earl, is put in the frame for murder. There’s also a romantic development between Di and the handsome sheriff. Find out more about Vickie and her books at www.vickiefee.com or at www.chicksonthecase.com.

One Fete in the Grave is now available at: http://a.co/fLtVm9V

14 thoughts on “Interview: Vickie Fee”

  1. Oh Vickie – I am so with you on the shoes! I’d much rather be in bare feet. But living in Pittsburgh, PA some kind of foot gear is required in the winter lest my toes freeze off. Liv and Di sound like quite the pair. Thanks for visiting!

    Like

  2. OK, time of an anthology – shoeless writers. I need to put mine on clappers. Always losing ’em. By the way, Vickie, I thought you should know, I’m fixin’ ta buy your book – sounds like a GREAT read. Can’t wait to dig in.

    Like

  3. Vicki: Welcome to Mysteristas and congratulations on your success! I enjoyed getting to know Liv and Di a bit. I’d rather be barefoot too but now that I have an Irish Wolfhound that drools, I have a pair of flip-flops or mules in every room — for when I kicked them off and can’t find them — so that I don’t step in his puddles. Alas, he likes to sleep at my feet and drool in the shoes.

    Kait: I like that shoeless writer anthology idea.

    Like

  4. Great interview, Vicki! Liv and Di sound like really fun characters to read about! Can’t wait to check out your book 🙂

    Like

  5. Thanks for being my gracious hosts today, ladies! I’m all in for the anthology, Kait. Sassy and Shoeless? Barefoot and Bodacious?

    Like

  6. Love it! Best friend sleuths with perfect names. Can’t wait to check it out.

    I vote Sassy and Shoeless (sitting shoeless as I type)

    Like

Leave a Reply

