The summer of B’con books

This October, I am attending Bouchercon in Toronto. Not only have I never attended a mystery convention of this magnitude, but I’ve never attended a convention. Period. In my defense, my youngest child is turning three tomorrow so getting away, even professionally, has felt impossible. But, not this year.

[I’ve also never been to Toronto, so bonus points.]

I decided to spend this summer reading as many B’con authors as I can. It’s selfish really. If I meet these authors, I want to say, “I read your book.” Anyway, it feels like a near impossible task since there are so many amazing authors attending. And I know what you’re thinking: how can a mystery author not read mystery authors? Well, I do, read plenty. But I’m a YA author, so I usually spend the bulk of my time reading YA books.

So far, I’ve read Lisa Lutz’s The Passenger (a rec from this blog) and I’m currently reading Karen Katchur’s The Secrets of Lake Road. Both page-turners. I’ve read Megan Abbott because she’s Megan Abbott and I’ve read Kate Moretti because she’s my best author friend and she’s amazing.

Also on my TBR pile, all my Mysteristas ladies.

giphy (giphy)

Are you attending B’Con? Rec me your book. If you’re a mystery lover, rec me something. I love historical mysteries. I love amateur sleuths. I love Veronica-Mars type heroines.

Author: Kimberly G. Giarratano

I'm a YA author. And mom of 3. I'm also tired. Very, very tired.

18 thoughts on “The summer of B’con books”

  1. Enjoy Bouchercon! I’m still holding out hope I’ll make it. If you like historical mysteries, you must read Catriona McPherson and Charles Todd.

  2. I’ll be there ! I’m on the volunteer committee and have been since day 1.
    BSP: I have 2 books: The Hanged Man’s Noose (#1 in the Glass Dolphin Mystery Series) and Skeletons in the Attic (#1 in the Marketville Mystery Series). Noose is on sale in all ebook formats for $2.99 until May 14th.
    Be sure to introduce yourself!

  3. Have a great time! I tried reading everyone’s books too and failed. I’m still going through the list of Malice Domestic faithfuls. “Faithfuls” is a word; I don’t care if this spellcheck doesn’t like it. Ha!

  4. Ooh, how fun!! At least you have the summer to prepare 🙂 The Passenger is on my TBR list…I’ll have to bump it to the top!

  5. I’ve never been to a conference either. My youngest also just turned three. Coincidence, I think not! Next year is our year for sure. Those kids are gonna start pulling their weight and let us go write more books!

  6. Lucky you! Check out one of my favorites, Francine Mathews. And a little more BSP: I will have a historical mystery coming soon.

  7. Have only been to one Bouchercon so far, but it was magical. Have a great time! (Wish I could afford all the mystery conferences. They are so rejuvenating.)

  8. I’ll be there! We’ll have to plan a Mysteristas get-together of some kind. Perhaps involving adult beverages? Maybe…

    I haven’t been to Bcon before and I’ve heard it’s pretty big and a bit intimidating. What a good idea to get on those books ahead of time. I’m usually way behind and then kick myself for not buying a signed copy of whatever. I’m going to let it wash over me and soak it all in.

  9. Becky, I’ve only been to one Bouchercon (Raleigh) and it was big, but not intimidating. Be yourself and you’ll have a blast! Be sure to find me and say hi! I’ve been on Mysteristas a couple of times as a guest, so I can be an unofficial member 🙂

  10. HUM, books to read, well here’s what I have read recently. “Say Nothing” by Brad Parks, and this is NOT one of his Carter Ross books. It is tense and scary and when it ends, it is not happy. You won’t be able to put it down, and you’ll need a big box of Kleenex. Another nail-biter is
    “The Silent Corner” by Dean Koontz. After you read it be sure to rent “The Manchurian Candidate” as I did. The older version id the best, but I could more easily fond the later one. After those thrillers, I had to let my brain recover so I read Madison Night’s adventures in Palm Springs in “The Decorator Who Knew Too Much” by Diane Vallere; nothing like a good vintage outfit to take your mind off a body floating in the water. “Police at the Station and They Don’t Look Friendly” a Detective Sean Duffy book by by Adrian McKinty is also one of my “lighter” choices. I love a good laugh in Northern Ireland in the middle of “The Troubles” as long as one doesn’t forget to look under the car for bombs. Finally, I recently attended a “book event” — not mysteries– where Fanny Flagg was a key note speaker. I had previously read (and loved) “The All-Girl Filling Station’s Last Reunion” and so I bought “The Whole Town’s Talking” and got both signed. Last but not least, today I got my advanced copy of Peg Brantley’s “Trafficked” so I’ll be starting that next.

    Hope you find something interesting in my list. I am a member on Goodreads, so if you ever want to read one of my reviews, you can “friend” me https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/9938894-3-no-7

    Happy reading everyone. Watch those word seeds grow into tall oak books.

  11. Yes, I know I already posted, but I can’t leave this discussion of “book” events without sharing a story an author shared with me about a book event. It seems that this to-be-unnamed author (because I didn’t say I was going to share) was at a book event and sharing a table with two fabulous authors, T. Jefferson Parker and Stephen J. Cannell, so you know this was a big event. A person walked up, looked the authors over with a questioning stare, picked up Steve Cannell’s book and started reading the reviews on the back cover. Of course it said something about how thrilling and action-packed the book was and how exciting and thrilling the characters were and what a thrilling book it was to read, and how totally thrilling this an experience this books was, thrilling really.

    The person made a “humpfh” sound, looked at the three authors, and commented “Well, this doesn’t look very thrilling” and tossed the book back on the table.

    So, if Steve Cannell can’t thrill everyone who can? Don’t worry, and just have fun at Bouchercon.

  12. You’re gonna have a blast. I have to say that between Boucheron and Left Coast Crime, I prefer LCC. No real reason. LCC is naturally more intimate because the number of attendees is less, but B-con segments into intimate groups almost organically. Hmmm… might’ve been my mood. Enjoy! Absorb! Connect with as many readers as you can!

  13. Enjoy, Kimberly. Toronto will be my 23rd(!) Bouchercon and I have been to 13 Left Coast Crimes and a dozen other smaller mystery conventions over the past 25 years, some which no longer exist. I find Bouchercon to be too big, a bit overwhelming due to its size but I still go most years. I enjoy meeting and finding out about new authors as much as seeing authors that I like to read. This year will be easy for me since Toronto is my hometown so I have a short trip. I hope you have a chance to explore the city.

Leave a Reply

