$64,000,000 Questions

If Only I’d Known…

My mom wasn’t always right.  If she had been (may she rest in peace), then I wouldn’t have had to hide my writing notebook from her when I was a teenager.  She thought that writing mysteries wasn’t challenging enough, but boy, was she wrong!

And speaking of challenges…

If we mystery lovers really wished we would’ve known the things we do not know, then what would happen to the mystery in our books?

If we mystery lovers knew on page one whodunnit, would we read on?

If Only I’d Known…

How to read faster.  Speed reading was the only subject I ever failed in high school.  I was given a machine with a bar of light that swept down the page of my book.  But the story swept me away, instead, and I failed to notice the bar of light waiting for me to catch up.

If I had learned to read faster, how many more books could I have read by now?

If Only I’d Known…

Memory doesn’t last forever.  Back in my twenties, I didn’t even keep a calendar, because I remembered everything.  No need for a journal when every day was fresh in my mind.  No need to keep elaborate spread sheets on characters and plot threads.  {{shudders}}

 So, when did spoiler alerts transform into gentle reminders?

If Only I’d Known…

When to end a book.  If I had known, maybe I wouldn’t have cycled through draft after draft of books.  Some of them changed their endings; some of them had no endings and got pitched into the bottom drawer.  Maybe I would’ve saved years of time.

How many more books could I have written by now?

If Only I’d Known…

The secret handshake.  I would’a become a bestselling author!

But then…would I have been able to write the books I really want to write?

That’s another $64,000,000 question!  What are some of yours?

8 thoughts on “$64,000,000 Questions”

  1. Your first one is close to my experience… people who loved me guided me toward their perception of success… which didn’t include anything as unstable as writing for a living.

    Like

  2. In my old age, I’ve decided that a lot of that stuff I could remember wasn’t that important.

    I still remember my youngest daughter’s first words (“Rory, change the channel”) and my oldest daughter’s reaction to her second birthday cake (“Oh, poo!”)(It was chocolate.), my ex-husband reciting poetry to me when he was courting me, going to my father’s office with him when I was three years old, the look on my mother’s face when I told her that she was the prettiest mommy of my third-grade classmates, laying on the couch across from my dying wolfhound as we napped off and on and looking each other in the eye just to make sure we were both there.

    You know, the dishes, the laundry, the empty gas tank, the bills etc will tell you if you forgot them.

    Like

  3. If only I’d known … I don’t know. I’m pretty happy where I’m at and it’s late so I’m fresh out of thoughts. I love your moments, Keenan.

    Like

Leave a Reply

