Relationships old and new

Posting for Becky Clark, who is healing up. Get well soon, Becky!

I recently had a tumor removed from my spinal column. Totally benign, expect total recovery, I was in total denial. Not denial that it was a thing, but the aftermath.
Totes not prepared. But maybe you can’t be.

But in keeping with the theme this month, I have found some new relationships and strengthened some old ones.

First, with my husband. We’ve never really been tested before, but partial paralysis – especially when you’re both a bit delusional and in the dark about it all – well, that’s a test of a relationship. He’s definitely risen to the occasion.

Second, with my neurosurgeon. I heart him.

Third, with all the nurses, hospital staff, and pharmacists who’ve shown up in our orbit. All excellent, as desperate as we are that I can control my pain and relearn how to walk and bathe and poop again.

And fourth, all my friends, most of whom are in my writing community. Every single note or text or comment wishing me good luck, giving me encouragement, making me laugh has made all the difference between wallowing in the dark or remembering the light.

These are the relationships I’m so thankful for right now, as I continue my battle to get stronger.

Oh, and two more … iPhone and Facebook. Where would I be without my relationship with you?? It takes a digital village, right?

Plus, they make it possible for me to show you my stitches! Just say the word ….

Author: Liz Milliron

Liz Milliron has been making up stories, and creating her own endings for other people's stories, for as long as she can remember. She's worked for fifteen years in the corporate world, but finds making things up is far more satisfying than writing software manuals. A lifelong mystery fan, her short fiction has been published in online magazines Uppagus and Mysterical-e. She has also had stories included in Lucky Charms: 12 Crime Tales, Blood on the Bayou (the 2016 Bouchercon anthology), Fish Out of Water, and Mystery Most Historical. She is a past president of the Pittsburgh chapter of Sisters in Crime. Visit her online at http://lizmilliron.com, find her on Facebook at https://facebook.com/LizMilliron, or follow her on Twitter (@LizMilliron).

10 thoughts on “Relationships old and new”

  1. Hang in there! I love how through it all you’re keeping us all entertained! The line below is from my cat. I’m sure he’s wishing you well, too.

    ;.'[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[……../

    Like

  2. Becky, I’m so impressed and inspired at how you’ve managed to keep your sense of humor through everything! Wishing you a quick and smooth recovery.

    Like

  3. You are doing great Becky!!! Some days will be miserable and some days bright. On the miserable days remember everyone who loves you and that will make your burden a bit lighter. You have a great outlook and that too will carry you through. Keep going on that rocky road to recovery!!! ❤
    Kathie

    Like

  4. Be patient. I know that’s gonna be hard for you (and you can probably guess how I know it’s a hard thing to do), but seriously, you don’t have any choice. You’re not going to become medical phenom by healing in record time. Sorry, but it’s true. I love you. Be gentle with yourself. We’ll all be gentle with you. xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

