Interview: Dawn Barclay

Welcome Dawn Barclay, author of Expired Listings!

expired-listings-300-x-250hrWhat’s your idea of a perfect day?

Lying on a pristine white sand beach in 80 degree sunny weather, near a palm tree for shade, with a drink and a great book.

Do you have a signature accessory, color, fragrance, phrase/expression, or meal?

I think my signature meal would be lobster or anything with cream sauce over rice. Chicken Pot Pie, also very me.

Which books/authors inspired or influenced you the most?

I love authors who combine humor with whatever else they write so Marshall Karp, Jennifer Crusie, early Linwood Barclay and Harlan Coben, Jeff Strand.

Do you listen to music when you write?

No, I prefer it absolutely quiet. I’m going to zone in and ignore anything else anyway. My husband has had long discussions with me while I was writing and I guess he never noticed I never heard a word of what he said.

If your latest book were chocolate, what kind would it be and why?

It would be a truffle because you wouldn’t know what was inside until you bit into it. You never know what you have until you look underneath the surface!

What made you interested in writing this particular story?

I wanted to convey to fellow Realtors the dangers inherent in our industry and I also wanted to demystify the BDSM scene that I’ve observed from friends (it’s really not what others are writing about.) I also love writing satire so I knew it had to be funny and way over the top.

What themes do you regularly (re)visit in your writing?

The search for validation, the fact that nothing is ever what it seems (everyone has an agenda you know nothing about.) And also looking at anything in a satiric fashion.

Tell us about your main character.

Dana Black is a kinky but emotionally skittish former travel writer, now Realtor, who was abandoned by her mother at age 6, following the death of her father, and was left to live with her grandmother in the coal mining town of Centralia, PA–which if you don’t know anything about it, is worth some research. She’s sharp and resourceful and likes challenging herself. In many ways, she tries to overcome as an adult the issues she faced as a child. But she’s also burdened with recurrent blackouts, so she’s never sure where she’s been or what she’s been up to.

Describe your protagonist as a mash-up of three famous people or characters.

Wow, what an interesting question. I don’t know a lot of strong fictional or famous female characters that are already involved in the BDSM scene. But if we are just talking about strong, resilient, crime-solving, punny characters, not necessarily women or kinky, I would have to say Myron Bolitar (Harlan Coben), Andrew Mayhem (Jeff Strand) and Stephanie Plum (Janet Evanovich).

If you could host a mystery-author dinner party, who are the six writers (living or otherwise) you’d include?

Ayn Rand (not mystery but she’s always going to be invited!), Harlan Coben (I met him and he’s hilarious), Marshall Karp (a friend already), Michael Connelly (met him too and he’s so nice), John Lescroat (met him at Thrillerfest, a doll) and Karin Slaughter (saw her interview Gillian Flynn at Thrillerfest, she is hilarious!)

What’s next for you?

I am writing a contemporary women’s fiction novel titled, “Slashing Mona Lisa.”

*****

WHO IS D.M. BARR?

By day, a mild-mannered salesperson, wife, mother, rescuer of senior shelter dogs, happily living just north of New York City. By night, an author of sex, suspense and satire.

My background includes stints in travel marketing, travel journalism, meeting planning, public relations and real estate. I was, for a long and happy time, an award-winning magazine writer and editor. Then kids happened. And I needed to actually make money. Now they’re off doing whatever it is they do (of which I have no idea since they won’t friend me on Facebook) and I can spend my spare time weaving tales of debauchery and whatever else tickles my fancy.

The main thing to remember about my work is that I am NOT one of my characters. For example, as a real estate broker, I’ve never played Bondage Bingo in one of my empty listings or offed one of my problem clients.

But that’s not to say I haven’t wanted to…

3 thoughts on “Interview: Dawn Barclay”

  1. Hi Dawn, thank you for visiting! Yum, lobster and yes, definitely anything with cream sauce over rice. One of my series also features a Realtor, so far her scenarios have been much tamer than those you describe–maybe she needs to change neighborhoods. Interesting premise, interesting character mashup! Sounds like a great read.

Leave a Reply

