2017 (IMAGINE FIREWORKS HERE) by Kait Carson

Our theme this month is new beginnings. What better way to return from a Holiday break that includes the introduction of the year 2017?

Can’t speak for everyone, but I love the blank page, in writing and in life. 2017 is a blank page. I’m surrounded by new calendars (crack for me) and a new book. I turned in Death Dive (working title) to Henery Press on 12/31/16. Yep, right at the end of the old year. It wasn’t due until 1/3/17, but I wanted to finish 2016 with a flourish. Needless to say, I haven’t heard if they are accepting it. But I think it’s one of the best I’ve written.

There’s some breathing room before I have to begin the next Hayden Kent book so I’ve begun the third book in my self-published indie series, the Catherine Swope mysteries. This too is a departure. Catherine is a former cop and current realtor trying hard to establish herself in the high-end Miami market. Her best friend Nancy calls and Nancy’s brother is dead, in front of the UFO houses in Homestead. The resulting investigation jars Catherine to the core and threatens her friendship with Nancy and Catherine’s relationship with Mike, the man she has come to see as the love of her life. Can Catherine’s fragile sobriety survive these blows? Will she be able to help Nancy and find her brother’s killer? You’ll have to check out the new book. I plan on a June release date – just in time for a beach read.

On other new beginning fronts (you’ll note I’m not calling anything a resolution), I’ve decided to cut back on work at my day job. I’ve been working 12 hour days and if the workload will allow, I’d like to cut them back to ten hour days. My boss is on board with that as he understands how important my writing life is to me. Pretty cool to have a supportive boss. Kudos, Richard Milstein!

I’ve also managed to run four and a half miles three days in a row. While I know my body will not take that punishment on a daily basis, I have found a wonderful yoga program app. Yoga Studio by Gaiam. It lets me practice at home and will provide wonderful stretching and balance exercise for my off days. Looking forward to participating with the app on days when I won’t have time to run—or shouldn’t run.

My new beginnings also include writing goals. I used to publish with the Trues magazines. You know, True Story, True Romance. I haven’t participated with them for a while, but now, I want to get back to the short story form and that’s a great way to do it, so—I’m figuring on writing at least one a month. Same with Woman’s World. I never could crack the romance market there, but I have published in the mystery market. Again, it’s been a few years and now, I’m aching to get back to it. There is something so satisfying about writing short, but it’s difficult too. I need to relearn the skill and flex my writing muscles.

Can you tell what kind of a year I’m beginning? A year of transition from the day job to a full-time writer.

That’s my dream. I hope it comes true.

What about you? What’s your dream for 2017?

Kait Carson lives in an airpark in south central Florida with a pilot husband, eight tropical birds, and six rescue cats. By day, she’s a practicing probate and litigation paralegal, in the evening, legal pads give way to a keyboard, and she spins tales of murder and mayhem set in the tropical heat. Kait writes two series, the Catherine Swope series, set in Miami, and the Hayden Kent series set in the Fabulous Florida Keys.

Kait loves to hear from readers, check out her website at www.kaitcarson.com; follow her on Facebook at www.facebook.com/kaitcarsonauthor, on Twitter at @kaitcarson, or e-mail her at kait.carson@gmail.com.

Author: kaitcarson

I write mysteries set in South Florida. The Hayden Kent series is set in the Florida Keys. Hayden is a SCUBA diving paralegal who keeps finding bodies. Underwater, no one can hear you scream! Catherine Swope is a Miami Realtor with a penchant for finding bodies in the darndest places. I live in an airpark in Fort Denaud, FL with my husband, six cats and three birds. And oh yes, a Piper Cherokee 6 in the hangar!

14 thoughts on “2017 (IMAGINE FIREWORKS HERE) by Kait Carson”

  1. Kait, I love that you don’t call these new beginnings resolutions. That’s a great approach and it sounds like you’ve got a few. I look forward to reading your short stories, I’ve added that to my goals for 2017 as well. My big addition this year is a new dog, guaranteed to keep me hiking and walking, which translates into more thinking time while working on the next novel. Happy New Year and congrats on your new beginnings.

    Like

  2. Thanks, Nancy! Oh, a new puppy (my adoptions are always adult dogs and cats, but I always call them puppies and kittens) Congratulations! You have to post lots of pictures. There is nothing so satisfying as hiking with a dog. They notice so much more than we do and we get to see things at their level. Perfect for writing detail.

    Like

  3. Awesome new beginnings lined up! Good luck on all that, especially the transition to full-time writing. Can’t wait to read your newest books and short stories, too!

    Like

  4. OMG OMG OMG… How the heck do you work 10-12 hours a day, write 2 books a year (an assumption based on starting a book now and publishing in June), exercise, write short stories, and eat and sleep (probably). Zowsters!

    For 2017 I’ll publish the book I’ve been revising, and because that book is essentially done, maybe the third in the Aspen Falls Thriller series. Oh, and lose weight.

    Like

  5. Ditto what Peg said. My goals are more day-at-a-time. Keep working. Keep writing. Keep my modest rate of weight loss and maybe this Malice I’ll be able to wear the suit I couldn’t get into at the last Malice.

    Like

  6. @Liz, yes, it is an iPad app and it does guide you. I really like that it has a bunch of beginner programs that vary in length from 15 minutes to I think an hour. I’ve been working on the 1/2 hour one and it really is a work out. I’m impressed.

    @Sue, THANKS! I’ve got my fingers crossed (and with this new yoga program, sometimes a lot of other body parts too!

    @Peg. I know, it sounds awful. I flunked sleeping at an early age. I rarely get more than three or four hours a night, and I can’t stay in bed. I get too antsy and even the cats bail on me. So I learned long ago to get up and do something. For me, the something has always been reading or writing. One day a month I sleep a solid sixteen hours. My husband is very tolerant of my crazy schedule. It’s almost not as bad as it sounds. I start the day job at 4 or 5 AM and I work from home. No commute time added in. See, you’ve got two books in the hopper for this year too.

    @Keenan – Rock on! You will succeed. Fantastic.

    Like

  7. I, too, love a clean calendar. I already have a zillion things on it, but I’ve learned to take it a month at a time. Then I plan for the week, and the day. And I have a new yoga regimen, also online. I use YogaGlo and am loving it. Even hubs does a practice every day!

    Like

  8. Liz Milliron, I have also found yoga podcasts helpful. I make time in my schedule to take yoga classes, and I LOVE them. I also run (HA HA, really walk but that does not sound as “acceptable” as running) on the days I do not do yoga, and I use that time to listen to audio books. The books really make the “distance” go by quickly, and I have been able to listen to quite a few books on my “to read” list. I get the books from my library’s online site and transfer them to my iPod mini. I even bought myself new Bluetooth headphones for my birthday. I love the wireless connection and I sometimes listen while I work around the house — although I try to avoid that activity as much as possible.

    I have lots of “new beginnings” for this year but the only one that I will actually work on is my goal to post more reviews on line (Amazon and Goodreads). I read (and listen to) a lot of books, but I almost never write reviews. This blog has motivated me. I realistically could write two reviews per month, but I am going to challenge myself to post three per month.

    Wish me luck and good reading (I really don’t write bad reviews because I don’t finish “non-preferred” books). I post as 3 no 7, so feel free to check up on my reviewing progress.

    Like

  9. Great post, Kait! Echoing others here, but I’m amazed at how much you’re able to accomplish. Bravo! I have some specific writing and reading goals, but my real dream for 2017 is that my husband and I are able to get in a good groove after the baby gets here 🙂

    Like

  10. Wow! You are a workhorse! Congrats on turning in your latest novel! Not sure what my goals are, though I need to figure out how to balance of editing, which has taken over, with my own writing. I have some writing goals, too. Probably too lofty. 🙂

    Like

  11. @Becky have to check out Yoga Glo, I love to switch it up – I get bored easily – you could guess that right – so the more different/same things the better for me! Thanks for the tip.

    @3 no 7 I bought Bluetooth too! And a Sandisk player because I can clip it in my running shorts. I can’t strap my iPod or iPhone on my arm because of the after-effects of breast cancer so I needed a clip on. I was so excited to find one that works with Bluetooth. Like you, I run/walk (runlk?) you know, they say it’s better for getting in shape and weight loss. Recovery/rev up. Looking forward to more reviews from you. Love to read what you think of our blogs, you always have great insight. Definitely checking out your reviews.

    @Kate you’ll do fine! Babies bring a groove with them, and it is a pleasure to fall in step with them. You’ll see. There’s a sixth sense at work there. Big hug!

    @Sam Never figured out how to edit and write. It’s one or other for me. Oh, I edit my chapters before I put them to bed, I don’t mean that, but the big end of book, publisher type edits. Nope, all encompassing. I envy people who can edit and write. It’s like they have two different minds!

    Like

  12. Your goals are my goals. I want to run more but it’s been in the teens here and icy, so I think my exercising will have to wait until spring. I want to spend more time writing and less time online. Here’s to a stellar 2017.

    Like

  13. Back at you, Kimberly. It was hard running in the winter when I lived in Maine. I did substitute snowshoeing for part of it, but it moved too slowly to be fun for me. Still, at least it was outdoors. That was when I joined my first gym. Not a great substitute, but it did keep me active.

    Like

Leave a Reply

