Wrapping it up and Sending 2016 on the Road

Where did this year go? Seems like only yesterday I was in a track stance and waiting for the new year. Father time has traded in his two-wheeled handcart for a Ferrari.

December is a special month. A time to look back and ahead. I’ve kept a journal since I was nine or ten. I remember my first one—it had a Girl Scout logo, and a lock. Every December I’d reflect on what happened over the year and make plans for the upcoming year. The December 31st entry always had a list of what I hoped to accomplish during the next year. It’s strange, but when I go back through my older journals, I discover how many plans came to fruition. Did writing the hopes and dreams set a cosmic force into play, or was it the act of writing that laid the groundwork for accomplishment? That’s a theory to explore another time.

Over the course of the last few years, I’ve fallen away from journaling. Part of it is the curse of the computer. I’ve spent hours flipping through handwritten journals trying to find an event I wanted to use in a story only to throw my hands in the air and re-shelve the book. So, I tried keeping a journal in Word, and even in One-Note to make use of the search function. Neither satisfied. A different part of the mind engages with pen hits paper. I guess I have my first plan for 2017—get back to regular journaling. Maybe color coded pens are the way to go. General stuff in one color, events to remember for stories in another. If nothing else, the pages will be festive.

Now it’s time to put 2016 in a box, wrap it up, and tie it with a bow. This is the year my second book, Death by Sunken Treasure, was published. I learned more about marketing, and became a charter member of a new blog, MotiveMeansOpportunity. By the time this year officially closes, my third book in the Hayden Kent series will have been sent to Henery Press. I’ve started work on the third book in the Catherine Swope series and I intend to self-publish it. To more books are perking away in my thoughts. One for a new series, and the second for a standalone I’ve always wanted to write. Overall, it’s been a very good year, one that left me with a sense of satisfaction and anticipation.

What about you? Do you have a sense of contentment looking back on 2016?

All the best for the upcoming holiday season no matter how you celebrate it.

Author: kaitcarson

I write mysteries set in South Florida. The Hayden Kent series is set in the Florida Keys. Hayden is a SCUBA diving paralegal who keeps finding bodies. Underwater, no one can hear you scream! Catherine Swope is a Miami Realtor with a penchant for finding bodies in the darndest places. I live in an airpark in Fort Denaud, FL with my husband, six cats and three birds. And oh yes, a Piper Cherokee 6 in the hangar!

14 thoughts on “Wrapping it up and Sending 2016 on the Road”

  1. I like your thoughtful way of living life deliberately. Isn’t it a wonderful thing to look foward with anticipation? Good luck on both your series, and hope 2017 brings you success. I have a box full of diaries from when I was young, and one is a girl scout diary like yours.

    Like

  2. I’ve never journaled or kept a diary, but I am an obsessive list-maker. I really believe that by writing down a wish or a goal, it’s much more likely to become action and come true. Sounds like you’ve done the same and will have a fantastic 2017!

    Like

  3. @Susan, I am so glad that you have a GS diary too! I was beginning to think it was a figment of my imagination. No one else I spoke with remembered them at all. Weren’t they great! the perfect size. Thanks for the good wishes, and to you as well!

    @Liz – Isn’t it amazing how that works. Without the goals list, I always feel as if I’m missing something, even though I often think I forgot them as soon as the ink left the pen!

    @Becky – Same thing. I love lists and I would love to know what the brain/hand connection is all about!

    Like

  4. Oh my golly, where has the year gone?!!? I haven’t assessed 2016 yet, but I’m pretty sure I won’t meet my goals. Still, it’s been a pretty good year. Looking forward to wrapping up!

    Like

  5. Wonderful post, Kait! Congratulations on having such a successful year with both your series! This year has gone so fast I feel like I have whiplash, but in a good way 🙂 Here’s to a stellar 2017!

    Like

  6. How can I not look back on 2016 with a sense of contentment when I’m in a place where internet coverage is “spotty”, unless I want to pay for premium? I’m receiving some ego-boosting feedback for my newest manuscript along with some truly fabulous ideas to make it better. A short-story I’ve wanted to write is beginning to take shape, and I’m neither having to cook or clean? Yep, I’m in a fabulous location and working! How cool is that?

    Here’s to 2017. Dream. Plan. Do.

    xoxo

    Like

  7. This year definitely flew by! I’m with Becky–compulsive list-maker. Journalling never really stuck for me, but I love the concept. So happy for you about book 3 in Hayden’s series. Loved the first two very much! And I think Peg nailed it: Dream. Plan. Do. LOVE it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

