Gratitude

I’m one of those people who feels wholly inadequate if Thanksgiving doesn’t turn out like a Norman Rockwell illustration.  And it rarely does.

Last year, I canceled Thanksgiving and Christmas because I had a dying dog with contagious skin condition. It wasn’t safe to have the grandkids over and expose them. The dog was happier too. But for me, it was a long, dark winter.

This year, I’m redirecting my thoughts to gratitude. There’s food in the fridge, the mortgage and the heat bill are paid. That’s huge.

Where there is life, there is hope. That’s huge too.

And let’s not forget the mystery community: Mysteristas, Malice Domestic and the wonderful people who work so hard to facilitate that event every year, and the generous, talented, wise and funny mystery-writing community.

Counting my blessings is a great way to pull myself out of a funk. It’s cheaper than shopping and less fattening than chocolate.

What’s going to happen next? It’s a mystery. But, you know, it always is. To think otherwise is delusional.

And in observing the mystery revealed, we harvest things so much more rich than we could have expected.

So, Mysteristas, on this T-day, what you grateful for?

5 thoughts on “Gratitude”

  1. Happy Thanksgiving, Keenan! My dinners are never Normal Rockwell perfect either. But you know what? That’s okay because the people around the table are what counts.

    Like you, I’m grateful for my family and friends. That my bills are paid. That I have a job.

    I’m grateful for the mystery community and that I have the ability to sit at a computer and create worlds out of pixels.

    You’re right. The next four years are a mystery and yes, they always are!

    Like

  2. Happy Thanksgiving! I’m grateful for my family and friends, too, and the mystery community, and the comforts that you point out. I’m also grateful for my health. Taking each day at a time!

    Like

  3. Happy Thanksgiving! Love your post. My kids went to bed late, got up early, and are now fighting. I’m grateful for coffee. In an hour I’m going to be grateful for some more important stuff.

    Like

  4. Happy Turkey Day, Keenan and all the Mysteristas! I am grateful for each and every one of you, special friends. The writing community is so much warmer than I expected when I started writing, but the Mysteristas are really standouts. Rock on!

    Like

  5. What a brave soul to post on T-Day! This Thanksgiving wasn’t what you’d call traditional. I’d been sick, family and friends were scattered, but LoML got some of his traditional food, so it wasn’t a total bust.

    Like

Leave a Reply

