‘My Favorite Murder’ Podcast

This public service announcement is brought to you by Kimberly — your neighborhood pop culture junkie. Seriously folks, I need to tell you about my newest podcast obsession — My Favorite Murder! And you all are the perfect audience for it. It’s a podcast about …. murder!

3oz8xgzbhkz1ysdxz2

Hosted by Karen Kilgariff and Georgia Hardstark, a comedian and Cooking Channel star respectively, My Favorite Murder is a podcast about true crime, told in the style of gossip with your best girlfriends over brunch and mimosas — chatting about the killer, adding your own commentary, recounting tidbits you heard on Dateline, not always being accurate, stuff like that.

It’s funny and fairly light considering the dark topic. The ladies riff for ten minutes, making each other, and the audience, laugh before each selecting a murder to tell, sometimes in chilling detail, but mostly with humor. They’re not disrespectful to the victims or anything, but they understand our morbid fascination with why people kill, and they talk about it loosely, like you would with your neighbor.

My favorite episodes are the ‘mini’ ones where listeners email murder stories from their own hometowns. The one I recently heard was from a woman who had nearly been abducted when she was a child by an infamous pedophile. Although it may sound creepy, it’s not told creepily. You’ll laugh and then be intrigued. And then you’ll wonder, what would I have done?

The best is the women’s blatant paranoia about getting murdered themselves. They end each podcast with terrific advice to “Stay sexy. Don’t get murdered.” Also, to “F*ck politeness,” a tactic to trust your gut instinct when dealing with strangers.

If you’re into true crime, or you just have a normal fascination with murder, check out My Favorite Murder. If anything, it will liven up your afternoon chores.

Author: Kimberly G. Giarratano

I'm a YA author. And mom of 3. I'm also tired. Very, very tired.

9 thoughts on “‘My Favorite Murder’ Podcast”

  1. Wow, fascinating! I am always on the lookout for podcast recommendations, and this one sounds as if it has a unique slant, perfectly suited for podcast format. Reminds me of when my girlfriends and I used to discuss (fictional) murders over lunch, often getting the odd look from neighboring booths.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the information. I have not listened to “My Favorite Murder” podcast. I do listen to a few podcasts, (usually yoga ones) but I did like “Serial.” I usually listen to audio books every day as I run, well not run really, just walking around the neighborhood, and my audio device will do podcasts. I will sign up, but I have to finish listening to “The Woman in Cabin 10” audio book first. I’m almost to the end and I just HAVE to know how it ends!!!

    Like

  3. Peg, podcasts are awesome to listen to while you’re doing the dishes, or laundry. They’re great for listening to while doing mundane chores.

    Like

  4. I just the other day heard about this podcast. The article I read said that one of the gals started it because of her very real clinical anxiety about getting murdered. It’s her way of dealing with it, apparently.

    Like

Leave a Reply

