Fall Reading List

I’ve started working on a YA mystery. To be honest, I’m still flirting with this manuscript. We’re not official or anything, although last week we did go parking; a.k.a., I wrote in a parking lot outside of the kids’ school. All in all, I’ve written ten pages that I’ll probably end up erasing in the long run, but I’m continuing with the dalliance for at least another week. Because I haven’t read a lot of YA mystery or paranormal, I decided to study up. So far, this is what I’ve read recently/plan to read soon:

A Madness so Discreet by Mindi McGinnis. This one has been on my TBR forever. I mean, it has the prettiest cover in the whole world and I loved Not a Drop to Drink, also by McGinnis. Oh, and it was only $1.99 a week ago, which meant I didn’t have wait for a library request because, let me tell you, authors don’t make quite as much as my husband once imagined. Great characters, delicious dark tone, creeptastic setting, and it won an Edgar. I noticed with some interest that the reviewers on Goodreads didn’t seem as bowled over as me or the people who hand out Edgars. I gave it five stars. Well, to be honest, I give most books five stars. I mean, what if I go to a conference and end up in a bar with a bunch of authors to whom I’ve coldly handed out two star reviews? I’ve never been to a conference, so it’s basically an “If Train X is traveling at 20 mph east and Train Y is traveling at 40 mph west” type problem, but it could happen. One day I could be one of those trains! I hope. Regardless, Mindi McGinnis deserved five stars. It’s a great book.

A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro. This one features Sherlock Holmes as a teenage girl—very clever, I thought. As I was falling asleep last night I started thinking of Sherlockian characters I’ve enjoyed. Gregory House from House came to mind. TV medical drama character or not, he was definitely a Sherlock.

Dead and Breakfast by fellow mysterista, Kimberly Giarratano! This one is next up on my list. Ghosts, Florida, and teenagers—I’m looking forward to it.

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris. I decided to reread this one for fun. I mean, why not? She has a bunch of other series I should probably also read.

The Amateurs by Sara Shepard. Pretty Little Liars might as well have come in pill form as far as I was concerned (should I be embarrassed to admit that?), so this book, also by Shepard, should go down easy.

For inspiration, I might read a few classics. I haven’t read The Tell Tale Heart since high school—and what is it?—twenty pages long. It’d be a crime not to read it. And, The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson has been sitting on my nightstand for two years. It’s close to Halloween (my daughter reminded me of this with a 6 a.m. wake-up call to find her witch’s cauldron candy bucket yesterday), so I might as well read some Jackson.

Any YA mysteries I should add to my list and what’s on your list? I mean, Kate Lansing asked the same question a week ago, but perhaps your answers have changed. Just think of everything that happened last week. Hillary fell down. Trump announced his testosterone levels on Dr. Oz. I practiced the violin with my seven-year-old five times. It’s basically been a year.

12 thoughts on “Fall Reading List”

  1. Thanks for putting me on the list! I suggest Prep School Confidential by Kara Taylor — it’s a well-written, fun mystery set at a boarding school. She also wrote The Darkest Corners (as Kara Thomas) and it’s darker than her Prep series but still really good. Great, twisty, read. I also like A Spy In The House by Y.S. Lee — historical YA mystery. Very good.

  2. I’m adding The Amateurs to my list pronto! I love Pretty Little Liars! Have fun with the YA mystery; I’ve toyed with writing one of those and may yet…someday 🙂

  3. I don’t have a lot of YA on my list – none in fact. And what I said a week ago stands, except now the list has exploded with books from Bouchercon! Next up: RG Belsky’s BLONDE ICE on a high recommendation from a friend.

  4. I don’t have any YA on my TBR, either–but I do now! Thanks for the recommendations! And have fun playing with your new story.

  5. I giggled my way through this post. Loved it! I have two series to recommend, but I’m TERRIBLE at remembering things like this, and the harder I try, the more my brain locks the information away. I will look when I get home. Very cool series that I read with my daughter, and would definitely re-read.

  6. Oh, I remembered! (Thanks to yesterday’s post, which I’m just getting around to reading now.) The Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter. It’s a six book series, and I’m still sad there aren’t any more to read. Also, Gail Carriger’s Finishing School series (steampunk). It’s delicious!

  7. Alas, I have no YA mysteries on my radar. When I want to study a genre, though, I go straight to the appropriate awards list and get all the nominees from the past few years. I figure that’s a pretty good start. Good luck with your new infatuation!

  8. I’m going to come back to this comments section and add all of these suggestions to my library request later on!

  9. This is a delightful post! I have no YA on my list at the moment. It’s funny though, a few years ago I was doing mental eye-rolling at all the paranormal ha were popping up. Then I read one of Polly Iyer’s Racine mysteries, followed by an Inspector Spector book and I discovered, I was hooked. I should have known. The Ghost and Mrs. Muir was one of my all time favorite TV shows!

  10. Well now we know you say, “Your book is 5-stars!” to ALL THE GIRLS. I’m glad I didn’t run out and buy a ring or anything. Also – this is a fantastic list! I just ordered 2 of the recommended books.

Leave a Reply

