The Many Textures and Mysteries of Fall

Fall is by far my favorite season of the year. So no surprise, when I started thinking about texture, the first things that came to mind were the crinkling of colorful leaves, the felt-like grass of a football stadium, the slimy innards of a pumpkin, and the soft pages of a good book.

mysteriesReading is at its best in the fall. My favorite way to page through a book—or my Kindle, as it were—is while sipping on something warm with a knitted scarf wrapped around my neck and the rain pattering outside. This is especially true for mysteries.

Mysteries have always felt very autumnal…Maybe it’s that so many of the classics take place in the UK where drizzly weather abounds, or maybe it’s the dark nature of murder and the sleuth’s task of exacting justice.

Regardless, while mysteries are great year round, there’s something special about reading a good mystery in the fall. Here are some of the mysteries I’m looking forward to reading over the next couple months:

  • A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro This YA novel piqued my interest when I first read the premise, the descendants of Sherlock and Watson must team up to solve a murder at their school. Nuff said!
  • The Secret Place by Tana French I’ve been working my way through the Dublin Murder Squad Series, and this is the next one on-queue. They’re dark, beautifully written, and impossible to predict.
  • Lethal Lifestyles by LynDee Walker Headlines in High Heels is one of my fave cozy series right now, and the newest book comes out September 27! The mysteries always solid, and I can’t wait to read what happens next to all the characters.
  • Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter This book has been on my To Read list for ages and I’ve heard nothing but good things about it. I think it’s finally time to pick up this dark mystery and see what all the hubbub is about!
  • Size 12 Is Not Fat by Meg Cabot The title is funny enough, but this cozy sounds right up my alley, especially since I really enjoyed one of Cabot’s other adult novels, The Boy Nextdoor.

What books are you excited to read this fall? Are there any mysteries I need to add to my list?

Author: Kate Lansing

I write mysteries, YA novels, and short fiction. I also read A LOT, travel as much as possible, and take way too many pictures of my cat.

12 thoughts on “The Many Textures and Mysteries of Fall”

  1. Nice reading list! I just got an email from the library that A Study in Charlotte is ready to pick up. 🙂 I just read A Madness So Discreet (excellent!). I’m feeling the exact same as you. Fall is definitely for mysteries.

  2. I love reading in the fall/winter – especially once we fire up the wood stove. The book on the descendants of Holmes and Watson sounds great – and I want to pick up the new Holmes by — omigosh blanking on the name, Birdie? Also want to get the collection of Holmes-inspired short stores. Those two new Poirot mysteries keep popping up on my radar. I have the latest two books in Diane Vallere’s Material Witness series. I want to read Pretty Girls. I also have The Paris Librarian. Hank Phillippi Ryan’s latest Jane Ryland will be out this fall and I want to read the rest of her Charlie McNally books. I’m two books behind on the Savannah Martin Mysteries by Jenna Bennett. I should stop now, huh?

  3. I love hearing about what you ladies are reading!!

    Sam, we’ll have to compare notes after we finish A Study in Charlotte!

    Hahaha! Mary, you’ve made me aware of SO many books I need to add to my list! There’s just not enough time, eh?! 🙂

  4. I LOVE the slimy innards and couldn’t believe my luck when none of my 3 kids wanted to scoop the jack-o-lantern! (I also love gutting fish. Don’t judge.)

    On my nightstand: the Masque of a Murderer by Susanna Calkins …. Night, Night, Sleep Tight by Hallie Ephron … and Body and Bone by my pal LS Hawker.

  5. Hi Kate, I love fall too! It’s always meant a new beginning, and great clothes. On my reading list? Wow, right now I’m reading Sherry Harris’s Tagged for Death. Next up on my TBR is Lisa Gardner’s Touch & Go, followed by Lisa Scottoline’s Betrayed. They say the next two days will be full rain…I’m looking forward to it.

  6. I’m working on a Quirke novel by Benjamin Black and on tenterhooks waiting for new books from Tana French and Stuart Neville. Stuart Neville is at Bouchercon, by the way. I think he’s scheduled for a panel. I’m not there. Unhappy face.

  7. My favorite book to re-read every fall isn’t a mystery but a YA urban fantasy — Tithe by Holly Black. It’s set in NJ in October and is so autumnal.

  8. Seriously, I’m loving hearing what everyone is reading!

    Becky, LOL. Gotta admit, I was one of those kids grossed out by pumpkin innards when I was little 😛

    Oh, Kait, fall fashion is my favorite! I’m breaking in my boots for the first time today 🙂 Enjoy the rainy reading weather!

    Keenan, I forgot Tana French has a brand new novel coming out this month! I’ve never been to Bouchercon, but would really love to go one of these years 🙂

    Kimberly, have fun with your reread! I really enjoyed Holly Black’s Curse Workers trilogy, but haven’t checked out any of her other stuff. I may have to read Tithe!

  9. Right now I’m reading Sheila Lowe’s LAST WRITES. The thing I appreciate about Sheila’s series is that you don’t have to read them in order. I just finished reading Donnell Bell’s THE PAST CAME HUNTING. I have a stack of books in the bedroom, literally a bookcase full of TBRs in our reading room, and a Kindle that would be bursting if Kindle’s could burst, so I don’t know what will come next, but it will be a page-turner!

  10. Peg, that’s always something I appreciate in a series too, that you don’t necessarily have to read them in order. I’ve read one of Donnell’s other books and enjoyed it very much! Hope you enjoy, and I hear ya about the bursting TBR pile 😉

Leave a Reply

