Interview: DJ Adamson

Please welcome DJ Adamson, author of the Lillian Dove Mysteries and the Deviation science fiction suspense trilogy.

How fun to be here. Thanks for the interview.

Suppose_Kindle_cover %281%29What’s your idea of a perfect day?

A perfect day for me is to wake up not tired and to have the afternoon free of appointments. After writing for 3-4 hours, doing anything else takes up the whole day. I enjoy a bit of freedom.

Do you have a signature accessory, color, fragrance, phrase/expression, or meal?

Actually, it took me a minute to think if I do. No. At least none that I notice. I am Scorpio. I like it all!

Which books/authors inspired or influenced you the most?

While I write genre, the literary greats have inspired me from childhood. I was reading Steinbeck at the age of ten. At one time, I wanted to be Faulkner. Who wouldn’t just die to be able to write dialog like Steinbeck? I wish I could develop a literary theme to the great ability of Jose Saramargo. Women authors? Joyce Carol Oats, Margaret Atwood. Mystery? Elizabeth George, Anne Perry. See, there are so many!!

Do you listen to music when you write?

Not always. If I do, it’s generally classical or instrumental. However, at my house, and with my study offering no door, there is generally a television echoing. I grew up writing at the kitchen table with my father watching television. Noise doesn’t bother me.

If your latest book were chocolate, what kind would it be and why?

Good, an easy question. Dark Covered Cherries. While the novels I have published so far are not dark- dark, I do like a dark story or dark humor. The cherry in the middle is the set of great characters and an interesting plot to chew on. Oh, and don’t forget the syrup. It’s the syrup that makes me want more.

What made you interested in writing this particular story?

My novel Suppose is the second novel in my Lillian Dove Series. The character is inspired from my aunt who was alienated from my family because she was an alcoholic. I wanted to have a character who understood that everyone, to an extent, battles addictions and compulsions. For example, I can’t go through a bookstore without buying a book. I have to force myself to pass up a quilt store. I have a closet full of material. But, I didn’t want to talk totally about her drinking behavior. Lillian’s inner conflict in the series is in finding her real self after having started drinking at the age of 12. What would life have been like should she never have taken that first drink? Had a father who was an alcoholic? A mother in denial? Who is she? And who is to blame for her life? In the series, she moves through the steps to find out. Suppose is another step for her to start believing the answers are out there for her to find.

What themes do you regularly (re)visit in your writing?

I love playing with themes, and when I am a guest speaker, it’s what I generally discuss. The Lillian Dove Series offers a recovery theme…mostly recovery of self. Each major character is connected to themes: mother-daughter relationship, survival, love, self identity, control vs. choices.

What’s next for you?

I have outlined the next Lillian Dove book, Let Go (Fall 2017). I am working on a new novel, At the Edge of Never (2017). n fact, I am blogging on the writing of this novel on my website. And, on the schedule is the need to finish the second book in my science-fiction- suspense trilogy Deviation. Good grief. I just made myself tired again!

*****

Me 3D. J. Adamson’s root-family is firmly embedded in Iowa where her ancestors have lived since 1865. “No one but family has ever lived on my Great Grandmother’s property.” She is the post-war child of Midwest parents who moved to Oregon after WWII. She made her own adventurous journey—or it seemed like an adventure in her twenties—to Glendale, California in 1978, where she still lives part time and is a professor of English, teaching logical argument and creative writing.

D. J. Adamson is the author of the Lillian Dove Mystery series and the Deviation science fiction-suspense trilogy. Suppose, the second in the Lillian series has just been released. To keep busy when she is not writing or teaching, she is the Membership Director of the Los Angeles Sisters in Crime, Vice President of Central Coast Sisters in Crime and an active member of the Southern California Mystery Writers. Her books can be found and purchased in bookstores and on Amazon. To find her, her blog L’Artiste, or her newsletter that interviews and reviews authors go to http://www.djadamson.com. Make friends with her on Facebook or Goodreads.

12 thoughts on “Interview: DJ Adamson”

  1. Hi DJ, thank you for visiting us. WOW. your schedule makes ME tired. How do you accomplish all of that? Suppose sounds great. The what ifs for a universal theme as we grow older and have the distance to look back over our lives and see the turning points. It’s on my TBR!

  2. Your books sound fascinating, and I am looking forward to checking them out. Curious about the themes–do you come up with them before you start to write, or do they develop as the book unfolds? Thanks for visiting us!

  3. Welcome, DJ, and great interview! I’m echoing the others’ comments here, but the theme of recovery sounds like a fascinating one to explore. Lots of good fodder for stories there! Congrats on your new release! 🙂

  4. What a great interview. I would like to hear more about your thoughts on theme and your great grandma’s farm. 🙂

  5. Hello Mary,
    Surprises from my characters? All the time. I have researched my subject and theme extensively. What surprises me is how much I have learned about myself while writing this series. Lillian always shocks me by not feeling as if she is very strong but has an inner strength that is growing. In book three, LET GO, to release next year, she springs us with a decision we would never have suspected.
    Thanks for coming.

  6. Hello Sue,
    I just discussed themes in my latest blog on L’Artiste. Please join my newsletter Le Coeur de l’Artiste where I review author’s books for free.
    My themes are developed before I start writing. A good book, I feel, is one that says something new. By choosing themes and how I will develop them allows me to try to handle them with a new perspective. For example, Admit to Mayhem, is written around the themes of recovery of self, choices, self-identity, lack of control. I didn’t just want to create another alcoholic protagonist. Instead, Lillian has an addictive personality. Many of us do. Those things we are addicted to form some of our choices.
    Such as, if I don’t quit going to bookstores, my husband is going to have to build me more bookshelves, and I’ll need to buy stock in American Express.. 🙂

    Thanks for coming and playing.

  7. Hi Sam,
    How great is it to have family still living in my great grandmother’s house? I don’t hear that very often in Los Angeles. I researched my family roots for my mother who thought her father’s side of the family was depleted. I fool her. I ended up having a family reunion of the Kaefrings where 175 attended. She had four first cousins still living. And, most of the family was still living on the 1865 property in Johnson County, Iowa. She’d kept track of her mother’s side of the family instead of her father’s.
    Thanks for coming.

Leave a Reply

