Fond Farewell to a Long-time Mysterista

The second Tuesday of the month is normally Cynthia Kuhn’s time to blog. cynthiaBut it is with a heavy collective heart that we make this announcement: Cyntha has left Mysteristas to be better able to pursue her writing commitments.

Cynthia has been with Mysteristas since the group’s inception and she will be greatly missed.

“I’ve been involved in group blogs in the past. (Crime Fiction Writers is still getting “likes” on Facebook. How is that?) So when Cynthia proposed that Becky Clark and I consider jumping in for once-a-month posts I wasn’t all that impressed—until I saw the blog, the quality, and the followers. All were impressive.

Cynthia is a natural-born-teacher and her encouragement and nurturing spirit have fostered the growth and success of Mysteristas. I’m proud to be associated with all of you.

Thank you, Cynthia.” – Peg Brantley

“I doubt I’d be the blogger I am today without Cynthia’s kind guiding hand. She took me under her wing when I joined Mysteristas—can it be two years ago now? Gently coaxed me through my fear of WordPress and was always there with a kind and encouraging word. I was thrilled when she joined me at Henery Press and I am proud to call her both a mentor and a friend. Rock on Cynthia.” – Kait Carson

“I still remember being invited to join Mysteristas. I was shocked they’d want little old unpublished me. Over the years, I’ve had bouts of doubt. Do I belong here? Everybody else has agents and books; maybe I should let them find someone more impressive. And, without knowing it, Cynthia has brushed aside those doubts with her generosity and companionship. Write on, Cynthia. We’ll be looking forward to you future successes.” – Mary Sutton (Liz Milliron)

“I’ve only known Cynthia Kuhn for a little over a year, but it seems like forever.

Wait. That might have come out wrong.

She’s like the most comfortable pair of shoes you own. The first ones you pack to take on vacation. The ones you know will never hurt you. The ones you’ll never give up.

And I’ll tell you something else about her. In addition to being a talented storyteller, blogger, and instructor, she lights up any room she’s in, whether it’s got four walls or is made entirely of pixels. Her presence never fails to calm and inspire me, make me think and make me laugh.

I’m lucky to know her and will miss her guiding hand here at Mysteristas.” – Becky Clark

“Thank you so much for inviting me to Mysteristas! I love being a part of this blog and I’ll miss your posts, but I’m wishing you loads of success. You’re a gem.” – Kimberly Giarratano

“Cynthia is one of the most generous, thoughtful, and optimistic people I’ve ever met. Her support and encouragement have meant the world to me while I’ve started navigating the publishing waters. I wish her so much joy and success with all of her pursuits!” – Kate Lansing

“Cynthia, you are the wind beneath our wings. Thank you.” – Keenan Powell

“Cynthia, you held my hand while guiding me along on my baby steps into the world of blogging. Thanks for being such a wonderful role model! Best of luck on all your careers, and keep those books coming!” – Sue Star

14 thoughts on “Fond Farewell to a Long-time Mysterista”

  1. I’m torn between “Oh, no!” and “Best wishes!” and really my thoughts are a jumble of those things. Cynthia, you’re one of my favorite people in the mystery world, and I’ll miss you here—but hoping this means we’ll be seeing more of your writing elsewhere, which is a gift to us all. 🙂

  2. So happy, and so sad, all at the same time! As usual, I was late in sending my best wishes, so here they are:

    “I still can’t believe Cynthia invited me to join, back in the days of the Tweet Chats. So fast and fun. Whenever there was a moment of doubt about whether I belonged, Cynthia picked me back up. Missed a blog post? Complete understanding. Nurturing, supportive, and most of all patient, I will miss her leadership and care. However, I’m SO excited to follow her journey as a published novelist, and I can’t wait to read her next book. xo”

  3. Oh, Pamela, I’m glad I’m not the only tardy Mysterista!

    Cynthia, thank you so much for inviting me to belong to this group. It was such a huge compliment because I respect you so much, as a person and a writer (plus all the other awesome writers you’ve assembled). I was a little starry-eyed (even though I got my days mixed up and didn’t even post!). I’m so sad to see you go, but happy that you are taking care of yourself. So hard to balance writing with family and career. Best of luck and can’t wait to keep up via email and messenger . 🙂

  4. Oh my gosh! I’m speechless and teary. [Insert video clip of Wayne and Garth: “I’m not worthy!”]

    It has been such a joy to celebrate our mutual affinity for All Things Mystery here. But even more than that, I’ve been deeply grateful for your friendship and kindness–and I’ve learned so much from you!

    A million heartfelt thanks. Adore you all and will be cheering you on, always. 🙂

    xoxo

  5. Will miss you, Cynthia, on one of my favorite blogs…but will look forward to more of your wonderful books!!

  6. Thank you for creating such a wonderful space and community for mystery lovers, Cynthia! We’ll miss you!

Leave a Reply

