Imagination Movers

When my daughter was younger, she wasn’t much into children’s shows. Sadly, she never liked Sesame Street or most of the traditionally popular programming. However, she did discover something called Imagination Movers, and it was a ton of fun to watch (probably still is, but she’s a teenager now).

The concept is that this group of gents, along with their good friend (a mouse, I think), and a lovely woman who works in the same building, use imagination to solve problems. Clients come to them for help, and together, with a healthy dose of fun music and creative problem solving, they solve the client’s issue.

The whole thing takes place in a warehouse, with every kind of room imaginable: winter room, water room, wheels room, etc. It’s funny, sweet, kind, creative, and wholesome.

As a writer, I could sometimes use a visit to the Imagination Movers. I get stuck or I run out of steam–I’ve got a story that’s been stuck for over a year!–and the need for a fresh perspective is huge.

Imagination is a funny thing. People will sometimes claim that they have no imagination, but I suspect they just aren’t really letting themselves be open to possibilities. To me, that’s a pretty good definition of imagination: being open to possibilities. We talk often about the “what if” questions we ask, and imagination can definitely begin there. It’s that completely open, suspend disbelief, throw everything out there approach that keeps me in love with the writing process.

I don’t get to visit the Imagination Movers in real life, but that won’t stop me from going there in my mind. I’ll keep you posted! In the meantime, I feel a creative brainstorming session coming on. How do you use your imagination?

 

Author: Pamela A. Oberg

Pamela is a portfolio manager at an educational assessment company by day, writer by night. Founder of Writers on Words (a discussion and critique group), Pamela enjoys spinning tales of murder and mayhem, with an occasional foray into the world of the paranormal.

11 thoughts on “Imagination Movers”

  1. I’d love to visit the Imagination Room. Me? Conversation. I’ve jotted down two lines in as many days that will find their way into a story someday.

  2. What an interesting concept! Once, when my imagination dried up for a time, I took a vacation to the Oregon forests, and that restful locale inspired me anew.

  3. Absolute truth: on my way to California last week to attend a writers conference (more later), every human being in the airport looked like a Loony Tunes character — mostly barnyard. And I thought, I might be spending too much time thinking in story. A toned-down version of that would be people-watching. Just get a nice cup of tea and sit somewhere in public and watch them. They’re weird.

  4. Oh, Keenan, I’m giggling over here. 🙂 I’d love to join you for some tea and people-watching in an airport. We’d get buckets of ideas!!

    Sue, Oregon sounds delightful. A change of scenery is a great imagination booster!

    Mary, yes! I find–yes, this is odd–busy restrooms at either events (weddings, conferences, etc.) or travel-related venues (airports, train stations) are bountiful with useful conversation snippets. Oh, and trains. I have a whole conversation written down from a train ride I took several years ago. Not sure where it’s going, but I will use it, for sure!

  5. Thanks for sharing such a cool concept, Pamela! Travel has always jump-started my imagination–seeing foreign places and experiencing life outside my comfort zone. Writing conferences and chatting with other writers are also great for getting the creative juices flowing 🙂

  6. In the early 1990s, my kids watched a show on PBS called “Ghostwriter.” It was a group of teenagers who solved crimes with the help of a … you guessed it … ghost. I think that’s what we all have, some unseen force wedging its way into our subconscious. And when it doesn’t, we can rest assured knowing that our ghost is out convincing people to buy our books or give us that contract.

  7. Oh no! Now you have me wanting to Google Imagination Movers! It sounds like a great show and what a fantastic springboard for new and fresh ideas. A trip to the water room, now that sounds enticing. When running on idea empty, I make a conscious effort to still my mind, then I take a walk in a mall, on a busy street, anyplace I’m surrounded by crowds and I let my mind drink it in and go where it will. It doesn’t take too long before I’m making up stories about the people I see or the scenes in front of me.

  8. Children develop imagination early and don’t filter out anything. During a parent conference, my son’s first grade teacher asked me how often my son visited his father and if the divorce was difficult for him. She followed up with questions about his other family — Bob, Betty, Keith, and Oka — who lived on the farm. He talked in detail about the horses that he rode, fed, and cleaned up after in the barn. I was surprised because I certainly was not divorced, and she was shocked when I told her that while I knew Bob, Betty Keith, and Ooka, they were just imaginary. First grade was an interesting year from then on.

    Children do grow out of their imaginary friends, however. Betty, Bob, Keith, and Ooka moved to Korea about two years after the first grade parent conference, and have not been heard from since.

  9. You post sort of reminds me of Warehouse 13.

    I have two short stories I want to write—more fantasy than thriller, and a children’s story. Whenever I begin to feel stuck, I think about the outrageous concepts behind those stories and how they excite me. Then the flow seems to wend its way to my current project.

    Fun post, Pamela!

  10. LOVED Imagination Movers! I don’t know if it’s on anymore, but it was so fun. We even bought the soundtrack to the show. 🙂 Good times. Thanks for this post, Pamela!

  11. What a fun idea!! I want some imagination movers. I don’t believe it when people tell me they have no imagination either. I think that’s impossible.

Leave a Reply

