Interview: Christina Freeburn

Please welcome Christina Freeburn, author of the Scrap This mystery series.

What’s your idea of a perfect day?
For me, my idea of a perfect day would be relaxing outside in the sun with a wonderful book nearby, either after having shared a meal with my family or knowing that we’d be barbecuing soon. I’d finish up the day watching either a movie or documentary that speaks to my love of traveling. (I don’t get to travel as much as I’d like right now so I like to indulge that love with books and movies when I can’t get away.)

Do you have a signature accessory, color, fragrance, phrase/expression, or meal?
I’d have to say my signature accessory would be my Diamonique sterling silver Mickey Mouse pendant.

Framed 200x300Which books/authors inspired or influenced you the most?
I’d have to say The Hardy Boys. I’ve always loved mysteries but the family aspect of the Hardy boys drew me in. I loved seeing two siblings working together and caring about each other (now as an adult I do question Frank and Joe’s parents…what were Laura and Fenton thinking letting their sons investigate crimes?) that spoke to me as a child. In most of my books, there is a strong family unit. In the Scrap This series, Faith’s parents died when she was an infant but she has a strong relationship with her grandmothers Hope and Cheryl.

Do you listen to music when you write?
Usually I don’t listen to music when I write as I get distracted by the story the lyrics tell, but I found with the book I just finished (Masked to Death #5) that I couldn’t write without music. The albums I listened to over and over again were Adele’s 25 and Rob Thomas’s The Great Unknown. For some reason, those songs “spoke” to the muse.

If your latest book were chocolate, what kind would it be and why?
Wow, this is a tough question. Let’s see…if Framed to Death were chocolate it would be crispy M&Ms because an outer shell hides what’s inside and instead of getting the milk chocolate you’re use to under the candy coating, it’s mixed with crisps. It’s kind of what you expected, but the chocolate has a little bit more than you thought.

What made you interested in writing this particular story?
I wanted to explore the issue of how right and wrong seems based more on the person involved rather than the action itself. Faith has amatuered sleuth a few times now and has never been charged with interfering in a murder, so my main character has benefited from the “who is more important than what” that is a hot button issue for me. Usually, I’m of this issue from the standpoint of unfairness–what is done should be what matters most–but I decided to write about it from the opposite angle. How would Faith react if someone claimed she wasn’t arrested only because of favoritism?

What themes do you regularly (re)visit in your writing?
Family, justice, and women coming into their own/learning to like themselves for who they are actual are.

Tell us about your main character.
Faith is a worrier by nature who very much wants to please people, and those two elements of her personality clash with her need to see justice done. Faith had been set-up to take a fall for her ex-husband but one person believing in her saved her life. That moment in her life drives her. She’s always considered herself a rule-follower but has discovered that that part of personality has become secondary to helping those need. She’d rather bend rules than allow someone to suffer consequences that actually belong to someone else.

Describe your protagonist as a mash-up of three famous people or characters.
Emma, Snow White (Mary Margaret), and Belle from Once Upon a Time.

If you could host a mystery-author dinner party, who are the six writers (living or otherwise) you’d include?
Edgar Allan Poe, Agatha Christie, Pam Andrews Hanson, Sybil Johnson, Jenn McKinlay, and Wendy Tyson. (I wanted to say Henery Press but I wasn’t sure I could get away with that as being one author.)

What’s next for you?
I turned in Masked to Death, the 5th book in the Scrap This series at the beginning of the month, so next up is writing the 6th book in the series, Altered to Death along with editing Masked.

***

The Scrap This mystery series bring together Christina Freeburn’s love of scrapbooking, mysteries, and West Virginia. When not writing or reading, she can be found in her scrapbook room or at a crop. (Or she wishes Disney World or Disneyland, she’s not particular about which one—it would be Disney.) Lately, most of her scrapbooking projects are about her vacations as she’s fallen in love with traveling and cruises. Fortunately, her husband is also a traveler at heart. Christina served in the US Army JAG Corps and also worked as a paralegal, librarian, and church secretary.

Contact Info:

www.christinafreeburn.com

www.theselfrescueprincess.wordpress.com

Twitter: @ChristinaFreeb1

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Christina-Freeburn-245592138834150/

7 thoughts on “Interview: Christina Freeburn”

  1. Welcome to Mysteristas!

    Isn’t it strange that sometimes the least expected music will play a huge role in writing your book? I’m familiar with Adele’s 25 but Rob Thomas’s The Great Unknown is new to me.

    Thanks for a terrific interview!

  2. Welcome Christina! Who hasn’t heard of Adele, but I had not heard her sing until the special she did with Graham Norton. She is quite the musician! And congratulations on the success of your series!

  3. Love this–and I would love to be a fly on the wall at that dinner party! 🙂 Also would love to see a picture of your Mickey Mouse signature piece. Thanks so much for visiting us.

  4. I also love to read about travel, and I am wondering if you will take your character (who sounds fascinating, btw) on a travel adventure? Looking forward to checking out your books!

  5. Welcome Christina! I love how the story switched up on you – who becoming as – or more – important than what. I love it when things take a different path like that.

  6. Welcome, Christina! How interesting that you needed music for this novel, but not for others. Can’t wait to read the book to discover why!

  7. Welcome, Christina! Wonderful interview, and what fantastic themes you explore you in your writing! Like Sue, I wonder if your MC will get to have a travel adventure sometime?!

Leave a Reply

