Twisting by the Fool

There are all kinds of twists — delicious twist doughnuts, intricate twist hairstyles and jewelry, and of course, plot twists.

None of which I’m going to talk about today.

Instead, I want to chat about Dire Straits.

Writing is a physical ordeal, despite all outward appearances. In 2006, the first time I participated in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month where you write 60,000 words of a new novel in 30 days), I learned a valuable lesson. Among many, many other things, I learned I had to exercise every day.

Subsequently, because I’m *ahem* older and wiser, I’ve learned, in no particular order, menopausal women pack on weight like mastodons preparing for the next Ice Age … a body in motion tends to stay in motion … standing is better than sitting … the hip bone’s connected to the back bone, the back bone’s connected to the neck bone, the neck bone’s connected to the head bone … and you’ve gotta shake dem skeleton bones.

Dire Straits also knows this.

Here is my workspace.

Twisting by the Fool

When I know I’ll be writing and/or concentrating at my desk for lengthy periods, I set my alarm every hour. I have a playlist called “Becky’s Dance Party” and when the alarm sounds, I choose one song. Sometimes I pull out my trampoline and bounce in a raucous manner, sometimes I bop around in the room. But this is my favorite song to dance to …

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IOg9iEYVHkM

Yep … those Sultans of Swing, Dire Straits.

And if you’ve been sitting there reading blogs, email, and Facebook for a while, I challenge you to crank the volume and join me as a twisty fool for three minutes and thirty-one seconds. I guarantee you will have more energy and better focus when you finish.

Now get back to work!

Author: Becky Clark

I write funny cozy mysteries and spend my free time attempting to rid my clothing of dog hair, making purses and things out of rescued books, and plastering silly sayings on t-shirts and other products you simply can't live without.

10 thoughts on “Twisting by the Fool”

  1. Becky, you are my idol! The trampoline looks awesome, and frightening. I have a Garmin watch that plays a soft chime and then changes the screen to read “MOVE.” There are days that is too subtle for me. An alarm is much more demanding. Rock on!

  2. Oh I wish. Right now, the knee is not having it. No sir, not at all. I tried standing for fifteen minutes an hour and it’s torture. But as son as I get things figured out…

  3. My son stole my phone and turned on the radio while I was reading this post. It’s a sign!

  4. Aw, this is such a fun post, Becky! I try to get up every hour too, although there’s not usually dancing involved, but now I’m thinking there should be! 🙂

  5. “menopausal women pack on weight like mastodons preparing for the next Ice Age.” Good one. Lots of fun stuff to look forward to.

  6. Most mornings I’m at Jazzercise working up a sweat to all kinds of different beats—sometimes we even do the twist! While I’m pretty sure I’d break an ankle with your trampoline, I do get up and take a walk when I have a sticky plot point to work out. And of course, like Sue, there’s that issue of liquids…

    As always, Becky, a fun post!

  7. Thanks, everyone!
    Kait … yes, sometimes the alarm is too subtle or too easy to turn off without thinking. I often set the timer on the stove. Then I have to go all the way downstairs to turn it off.

    Mary … I like the trampoline because it has some give to it. Much easier on the joints. Hope your knee gets better. Injuries are such a pain! (No pun intended.)

    Sam … did you dance with your son? Never too young to learn healthy habits!

    Kate … sometimes I hula hoop. That’s fun too.

    Sue … absolutely! Hydration is so important, ha!

    3no7 … when I had a sit down desk I used a fitness ball. That was good too. I wouldn’t be able to reach my keyboard if I tried it now, though!

    Kimberly … yes, it’s a smorgasbord of fun. But only when you consider the alternative.

    Cynthia … tell me when you get one and we can Skype while we jump. No, really. It’ll be fun!

    Peg … I try not to sweat if I can help it. Four minutes is just about the right amount of time to get the blood pumping, but not the sweat dripping. And it’s funny, just yesterday I was trying to figure out a plot problem so I decided to take a few minutes and pull some weeds. But I could only think about the weeds, and what else needed to be done in the yard, and then I wanted to check on my irises, and and and. Seems I can only think about my manuscript at my desk.

Leave a Reply

