Passionate about podcasts

Podcasts have been around for a long time, but I’ve only recently discovered how awesome they are. For those who don’t know, podcasts are online radio shows that you can download or stream from your computer or mobile device. Lately, I’ve been devouring podcasts as they entertain me while I do boring chores such as unloading the dishwasher or folding laundry (I loathe folding laundry).

Some of my favorite podcasts are:

A family member turned me onto Mystery Show starring Starlee Kine in which Ms. Kine solves little innocuous mysteries such as how Britney Spears got a hold of a book by an unknown author, or the story behind an odd vanity plate. They’re short, utterly engaging, and addicting. I like to listen to them in the car.

In an effort to improve my Spanish, I’ve been listening to Spanish Obsessed (intermediate level), a podcast by Rob and Liz, a real-life couple, who speak only in Spanish. Topics range from coffee to cultural etiquette to money. Rob and Liz are charming and I understand them well, which makes me feel better about all those years of Spanish study.

Sometimes I listen to StarTalk with Neil deGrasse Tyson. I adore Tyson and he’s the only one who manages to make astronomy and astrophysics both relatable and comprehensible. Also, he’s a funny dude.

Lately, I’ve been listening to podcasts about self-publishing. My favorite is Rocking Self-publishing. There’s something about Simon, the British host (the accent!), I find endearing. He interviews someone new each week. Last podcast, he interviewed Chris Fox, a successful indie author, who just recently quit his job to write full-time. Chris talked about writing to market, which I found very enlightening. A few weeks ago I listened to a successful Clean Romance writer discuss her genre, and a male romance writer spoke about being a man in a female-dominated field.

Podcasts can be entertaining, but for a writer, they can be invaluable. They’re another form of research. Whenever I’m listening to a podcast, I never think ‘this is a waste of time’ because I’m always learning something new. And they help get my chores done.

Do you listen to podcasts? Can you recommend any? What are your favorites. Sound off in the comments.

Author: Kimberly G. Giarratano

I'm a YA author. And mom of 3. I'm also tired. Very, very tired.

11 thoughts on “Passionate about podcasts”

  1. I had a few podcasts I listened to, but then I got distracted, the episodes backed up and I thought, “Why bother?” I’m also picky about voices. When I drive the radio becomes background noise and a rarely remember what I heard. But I should definitely check out that Rocking Self Publishing podcast!

    Like

  2. I’ve only listened to a few podcasts, but I am learning that there are a number of podcasts that look for authors for guests. I understand it’s a great marketing avenue. I have a couple scheduled for my newest release. I’m curious to try them out. I am also hoping I don’t sound like Minnie Mouse!

    Like

  3. I like to listen to books on tape and haven’t developed the habit yet for podcasts. However, my daughter is also addicted to them. She downloaded 3 to my iPod that she thought I would like: Criminal, Serial, and This American Life.

    Like

  4. I do listen to podcasts. I am currently listening to “Serial,” from “This American Life.” Last year’s podcast (still available, by the way) focused on a teenager convicted of killing his girlfriend. They followed the whole process of the trial, etc. It was very interesting. They actually have a couple of “updates” as well. This year’s “case” involves a soldier who was held as a “POW” (although it really isn’t a war) in Afghanistan.

    I have also found several podcasts with “old time radio” mysteries. I alternate between listening to podcasts and audio books as I run in the mornings. Well, OK, I don’t really run, just walk fast, well maybe not even too fast, but I do walk. I find the walking time is more enjoyable when listening to podcasts or audio books, and I walk longer.

    I have sampled other types of podcasts, but i just don’t “get into” listening to other people whine about life or try to tell me what to do. I have my own life to whine about and lots to do without taking on someone else’s projects. thank you very much.

    Kimberly and Cynthia, I also listen when I am doing “mundane” tasks (cleaning, pulling weeds, things I can’t get others to do for me so I can sit down and read). I have never been successful listening in the car, because I have to pay attention to DRIVING, and I miss the details.

    I have heard podcasts with authors talking about their upcoming books, so if any of you do those podcasts, let me know. I always enjoy hearing what authors have to say about their work.

    So, Podcasts are just one more way that I can use technology to entertain , stimulate, and amuse.

    Like

  5. I’ve been fortunate to have been interviewed three times on two separate podcasts, well four times if you count the live internet radio show. But I don’t listen to them.

    I have the attention span of a gnat. Unless I’m confined in a car, my mind wanders and then I’m off and focused on some other project with whatever it is blathering in the background.

    Having said that, the Mystery Show sounds fun. And since they’re short I might be able to be in the moment!

    Thanks, Kimberly!

    Like

  6. I love podcasts too. I never manage to listen, though. I can’t get the kids to stop talking long enough. I know you have 3, too. I need some of your tricks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

