Anticipation

Who can see that word and not hear the Carly Simon song filling their head. I know that I’ve got an earworm for the day, and probably into the night. It’s even more fun to listen to the song now that Carly is dishing about the inspiration. The Warren Beatty revelation surprised me until I ran that stanza’s lyrics in my head. Then, yup, I can see it. Quintessential Beatty.New Year in Sydney

I’m like a kid about New Year. The week between Christmas and New Year has always been catnip to me. It’s when I put away the old year and wait anxiously for the arrival of the new. My journal fills with pages recapping the highs and lows of the old year and I start a new edition with my plans for the upcoming year. A few years ago, I took the time to read over those plans. I was surprised at how often they came true.

This year, it’s safe to say, that my readiness to put the old year away is multiplied by ten. New Year’s Day 2015 saw the death of my oldest cat. Then a few months later, one of my younger ones succumbed to kidney failure. Disasters of a greater or lesser degree followed through the remaining months. In fact, this year has been so awful worldwide, that I have made a conscious decision not to look back.

That is not affecting my feelings about the New Year. Those of you who follow me on Facebook know that I have already decided that 2016 will be AWESOME!  Attitude, after all, is everything. And I believe that your attitude can shape your reality. I may not be able to control what happens, but I can control how I react to it or act on it.

I’m in a track stance to see all the good things this year has to bring. No resolutions for me, well, maybe that is a resolution. Hum. Might need to rethink that one. Instead, I’m entering this newborn babe of a year with an open heart and an adventurous spirit. Planning for a full cup of good things.

How about you? Are you looking forward to the magic of 2016?

Author: kaitcarson

I write mysteries set in South Florida. The Hayden Kent series is set in the Florida Keys. Hayden is a SCUBA diving paralegal who keeps finding bodies. Underwater, no one can hear you scream! Catherine Swope is a Miami Realtor with a penchant for finding bodies in the darndest places. I live in an airpark in Fort Denaud, FL with my husband, six cats and three birds. And oh yes, a Piper Cherokee 6 in the hangar!

18 thoughts on “Anticipation”

  1. Wonderful post, Kait! I love the way you’re approaching the new year–with open heart and an adventurous spirit. Here’s to a great 2016!

    Like

  2. Love this so much, Kait: “I’m entering this newborn babe of a year with an open heart and an adventurous spirit. Planning for a full cup of good things.” You are wise.

    Sorry that last year was so rough, and I hope your next year (and everyone’s) is full of positivity and goodness!

    Like

Leave a Reply

