Fifty Fuzzy Caterpillars

Happy New Year!

This month, we’re talking about anticipation.  It’s a lovely theme for the month of January, I think. Tomorrow is my daughter’s first full week back at school, our (hubby and I) first full week back at work, and we’re anticipating all manner of things. Sadly, daughter is anticipating a hard week of remembering her middle school schedule, Spanish vocabulary, and an assortment of other things (of which only a middle schooler clearly understands the importance. Ah, well.) To welcome in January’s theme, I bring to you an assortment of my favorite literary anticipation quotes.

“Well,” said Pooh, “what I like best,” and then he had to stop and think. Because although Eating Honey was a very good thing to do, there was a moment just before you began to eat it which was better than when you were, but he didn’t know what it was called.”
A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

Winnie-the-Pooh has a delightfully endearing way about him, a processing of thought that encourages the reader to slow down and really absorb the message. Re-reading the Pooh stories reminds me that out-of-the box thinking comes in many forms; sometimes, it’s not really out-of-the-box as much as it is remembering which box, exactly, we’re in–and why. It’s not always necessary to find a new box, nor to move outside of it in order to achieve fresh perspective, set new goals, or reach goals previously set. Instead, sometimes we need to remember our purpose, enjoy the process, and then everything falls into place. Most important: enjoy the little things.

“Oh the places you’ll go! There is fun to be done! There are points to be scored. There are games to be won. And the magical things you can do with that ball will make you the winning-est winner of all.”
Dr. Seuss, Oh, The Places You’ll Go!

Now, I realize there are those who  take issue with Dr. Seuss’ lack of female representation in his stories; that’s a different blog. However, his stories remind us, encourage us, demand that we look forward, upward, and outside.  Where we’ve been is not nearly as important as where we are going, which is anywhere. Dr. Seuss (in my opinion) whispers in every reader’s ear, “Anticipation is a glorious thing, if only you let it be so.”

“If you come at four in the afternoon, I’ll begin to be happy by three.”
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince

Thinking about what I wanted to write in this post, I ran through all the things I was anticipating right now, things I’ve anticipated lately, and so forth. Making lists in my head, the “things” began to categorize themselves. And so it occurred to me that some of the tastiest, juiciest, most fulfilling kinds of anticipation are those that stem from the ones we love. Awaiting a loved one’s return from a trip or friend’s arrival at a restaurant, where we meet for a long overdue visit, these are some of the most powerful and rewarding forms of anticipation.

“It was an image Melody would never forget. Or was it the emotions the image conjured – hope, excitement, and fear of the unknown, all three tightly braided together, creating a fourth emotion that was impossible to define. She was getting a second chance at happiness and it tickled like swallowing fifty fuzzy caterpillars.”
Lisi Harrison, Monster High

Anticipation=the tickle of swallowing fifty fuzzy caterpillars? Yes. In the most enjoyable of ways.

Author: Pamela A. Oberg

Pamela is a portfolio manager at an educational assessment company by day, writer by night. Founder of Writers on Words (a discussion and critique group), Pamela enjoys spinning tales of murder and mayhem, with an occasional foray into the world of the paranormal.

9 thoughts on “Fifty Fuzzy Caterpillars”

  1. Delightful. And I love that you reminded me of my favorite book, The Little Prince. Fifty fuzzy caterpillars, hum, not so sure about that. Here in Florida, the fuzzy ones sting!

  2. I always find the anticipation of writing is better than the sitting down to write part.

  3. Happy New Year, Pamela! I love the quotes you mentioned, especially the Winnie-the-Pooh quote. What a lovely reminder to enjoy the anticipation of the little things in life 🙂

  4. Thanks, everyone. Happy New Year to you! I’m anticipating the wonderful posts of our new Mysteristas (as well as the not-so-new crew), reaching my goal of more writing time, finding a wonderful new job (I’ve been on an interviewing spree), and perhaps making a dent in the TBR pile (and then adding right back to it, of course).

    (Kait, I think I’ll stick with imaginary, non-stinging caterpillars!)

Leave a Reply

