Guest Post: Larissa Reinhart

Reflections on Georgia in Japan

I’ve lived in Japan four times over the last twenty years. This summer’s return has garnered me a lot of room for reflection. In the five years since my last move, I’ve had five books and a novella published. I actually began writing on our last stint in Japan: one manuscript that will never see the light of day and my first Cherry Tucker mystery. Both stories were set in Georgia. Now I’m back in Japan and still writing about Georgia.

Why Georgia while in Japan? Setting aside the obvious—write what you know—I’ve often mused over the similarities between the South and the Land of the Rising Sun. And so I don’t reflect for days, I’ve whittled down a much longer list to three topics.THE BODY IN THE LANDSCAPE front

Lipstick. In the South, ladies still wear hats to church and lipstick to the market. I’m talking capital L ladies, now. The no white after Labor Day rules are still taught in polite society and children still do cotillion. In fact, where I lived, getting your child an invitation to cotillion classes can get competitive.

In Japan, ladies wear lipstick to the market, dress up for shopping and lunch, and still do kimono or yukata (a cotton, less formal kimono) for ceremonies and special occasions. As do men (except for the whole lipstick thing). There are specific suits and dresses for funerals, weddings, graduations, and any number of events. Lipstick and blush. Heels and pearls. Hats and parasols. If hoop skirts caught on here, we might have an East/West Gone With the Wind mashup. And I’d never rule out anything in the Japanese fashion scene.

Politeness. One of the things I love best about the South is the respect for polite conventions. I’m surprised when I travel north and strangers don’t offer me a hello. In the South, children are drilled on their “Yes, ma’am”s and “No, sir”s. If you have to wait in line, you pass the time by chatting to folks around you. You shake hands and you smile. You just do.

In Japan, there are a generous handful of polite phrases in constant use. You can’t walk into a shop without the greeting Irisshaimase (welcome to the store). When you meet someone, after your initial introduction you always say yoroshiku oneigashimasu (please be kind/take care of me). Yoroshiku and oneigashimasu are used liberally for sorry, please help me, pass the salt. Maybe not pass the salt, but pass the salt oneigashimasu works. It’s an awesome, all encompassing phrase.

In the office, you apologize for leaving at the end of your work day, Osaki ni shitsureshimasu (Excuse me for leaving before you). And the response is Otsukaresama deshita (Thank you for your hard work). At home, upon leaving the house you say, Ittekimasu (I’m leaving) and ALL of the family replies Itterasshai (take care). When arriving you say Tadaima (I’m home) and everyone responds Okaeri (welcome back). And of course there are greetings for morning (ohayo gozaimasu), afternoon (konnichiwa), evening (konbanwa), and good night (oyasuminasai). The list goes on and on.

And the bowing. I find myself bowing when talking on the phone and driving my car. And so does everyone else.

Cynics might consider these standards of politeness meaningless because they’re in such constant use. However, the standards unify society. Polite phrases keep social mechanisms lubricated. You get to know your neighbors, coworkers, and shop keepers without invasiveness. You can interact with a large volume of people in the gentlest way possible. If you’re introverted, it’s a great communication method because you always know what to say.

Food. It’s not just the South who loves fried chicken. People tend to think sushi and ramen when they think of Japan. Although those are staples of Japanese cuisine, that’s not every day eating here.

Except for ramen. Ramen can easily be eaten every day.

Fried foods aren’t just for tempura. If you can drop it in hot oil, it can and will be fried in Japan. The main difference is bite sized frying because you don’t cut with chopsticks. Frying is done for traditionally similar reasons as in the South. Frying preserves meat. You can eat it cold. Frying makes a tough vegetable edible (okra’s in Japan, too). Frying tastes good…

Other staples of the Japanese diet you find in the South are greens, ham, shrimp, pork, chicken, sweet potatoes, shelled peas and beans, tomatoes and watermelon. And the most obvious—rice. Not just served on the side. One of the basic dishes here is don, a bowl of rice with simmered meat on top. Doesn’t it sound like low country fare?

As you can see, there’s plenty of Southern to inspire me in Japan. I’ll just grab a side of chicken and okra to go with my sushi as I bow and greet my neighbors. Although I’ll skip the lipstick and pearls.

***

A 2015 Georgia Author of the Year Best Mystery finalist, Larissa writes the Cherry Tucker Mystery series. The first in the series, PORTRAIT OF A DEAD GUY (2012), is a 2012 Daphne du Maurier finalist, 2012 The Emily finalist, and 2011 Dixie Kane Memorial winner. The fifth mystery, THE BODY IN THE LANDSCAPE, releases December 2015. Her family and Cairn Terrier, Biscuit, now live in Nagoya, Japan, but still call Georgia home. Visit her website, LarissaReinhart.com, find her chatting on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads, or join her Facebook street team, The Mystery Minions.

12 thoughts on “Guest Post: Larissa Reinhart”

  1. Delightful, Larissa! But I have to point out that if you go far enough north (rural Maine) politeness returns. Except the dress code runs to flannel shirts and jeans – can’t say there’s much lipstick going on. I am reading Still Life in Brunswick Stew and loving it.

    Like

  2. Love this! I have two Navy boys. One was stationed in Okinawa and one is currently near Mt Fuji someplace. They tell me such great stories like these. And I will start this very minute asking people to please be kind and take care of me. It’s the least they can do, right? Right??

    Like

  3. Hey Larissa! Loved the comparisons of Georgia and Japan! I do believe I would be comfortable living in Japan. Do people say the equivalent of “hey” in Japan? We always say “love you” when someone leaves and when they come back it’s “hey”. When we would call my dad (in Missouri), and his lady would answer she’d say I may not know which one, but I knew it was one of the Georgia girls. It’s so much fun to learn about other parts of the US and other countries. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. Oh, I love this! And the politeness sounds *dreamy.* It’s cool that you’re writing about Georgia while living in Japan. Reminds me of The Lost Generation, who wrote about America while living in Paris. Very literary. 🙂 Congrats on THE BODY IN THE LANDSCAPE, out this WEEK!

    Like

  5. Such interesting reflections! I love cultural comparisons. Thanks for sharing, and best wishes on your books. I look forward to checking them out.

    Like

  6. I *loved* your post, Larissa! My husband and I visited Japan for the first time in October. I was struck by similar things: the extreme politeness, how everyone dressed to the nines, and the delicious food (I think we ate ramen every day, lol!)! I’m still amazed when I think about the respect in that culture–I definitely got in the habit of bowing A LOT while we were there! Thank you for sharing and congrats on your new release! 🙂

    Like

  7. Hey everyone! I’m back. It’s morning here, so missed you while I was sleeping. Thanks for all the comments.

    Hey Kait, I’m sure that kind of politeness extends into other parts of the country. I was born in very small town in rural IL and they still keep some of these conventions here. Not so much the lipstick though!

    Becky, always oneigaishimasu. It’ll cover all your bases!

    Judy, there’s not really a “hey” (I use Hey all the time!), but there’s a greeting for each part of the day or for family/friends there’s the I’m back/I’m home.

    Kate, so glad you enjoyed your experience in Japan! My daughter would eat ramen every day if I’d let her. And at every meal!

    Terri, I don’t think they make those hoop skirts in my American size!

    Like

  8. Fabulous post! Even though I’m not from the south (never even been to Georgia), I tend to talk to people when I’m in line. Especially if I’m by myself. It’s usually always fun and I know I’ve enhanced someone else’s day, not to mention my own.

    Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

