Squeeeeeee-worthy Announcement

Folks, I’ve been holding out on you.

It about killed me to keep my mouth shut, but I did it. And now that I can finally say something, I’m totally ready to scream from the proverbial rooftops, even though I know that’s totally uncool.

I know it’s way better to act like you expected it. To just shrug your shoulders and smile like it’s no big thing.

I’m not sure what kind of major self-control allows someone of any personality to pull that off because a life’s dream is a life’s dream, no matter how cool you are.

So, here I am, being majorly uncool because I still can’t believe I have the chance in this lifetime to say this.

I have a book deal.

With HarperCollins.

In less than two years, I’ll be the author of a hardcover, honest-to-God BOOK.

SQUEEEEEEEEEEE.

Maria Barbo at HarperCollins’s Katherine Tegen Books has bought a debut YA fantasy by Sarah Henning, tentatively titled Heartless and pitched as the never-before-told origin story of the sea witch from Hans Christian Andersen’s “The Little Mermaid” told in the vein of Wicked—from the villainess’s point of view. Publication is set for fall 2017; Rachel Ekstrom at the Irene Goodman Literary Agency did the deal for world rights.

Yesssssss. I KNOW, RIGHT???

I am SO EXCITED.

I also know that if you’re reading this space you’re probably me to have a deal for, say, a mystery. Yeah, confusing, I know. But that’s the great thing about being a writer: your imagination doesn’t ever need to be penned in. My imagination doesn’t know that the other stories it’s told happen to be mysteries, it just knows that it wants to tell a good story.

And I am SO PYSCHED to share this story with you. It was so incredibly fun to write and I’m hoping it’ll be just as fun to read.

SQUEEEEEEEEEE.

21 thoughts on “Squeeeeeee-worthy Announcement”

  1. Sarah, I would say you’re reaction here is pretty level-headed. Because if I had the same news, I don’t think I’d be able to type a coherent sentence! Congratulations! Popping a virtual cork and throwing virtual confetti for you. Can’t wait to read it.

    Like

  2. ****Congratulations, Sarah!**** So thrilled for you! Flinging gold stars and confetti all over the place in your honor. “Poor Unfortunate Souls” is my favorite part of Little Mermaid < the show…obvs not in the fairy tale…but my point is: Sea Witch!). I can't wait to find out why the she IS the way she is! You're brilliant. ❤

    Like

  3. Congratulations. I’m not a “YA,” so not in the demographic for the book, but perhaps they will let be sneak out of the store with a copy if I put it in a “plain brown wrapper” so I don’t contaminate the YA reader pool. OH WAIT, I do KNOW some YA readers, so It will be fine.

    Like

  4. Thank you, everyone! I really appreciate it! And, yeah, it did take me about five times longer to write that post than any of my others because coherent sentences weren’t coming:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

