Final thoughts on rebels

I couldn’t really come up with something to say about rebels that we haven’t already said this month. It’s been a bit of an emotional rollercoaster this week, so the brain is feeling a little squishy. But hey. We rebels keep plugging, right? And really — I think every writer is a rebel. Who else would think sitting down to write a novel, or a poem, or a screen play, or a short story is, well, fun?

Anyway, I did what any self-respecting writer does when faced with this kind of situation. I hit up Google for inspiration; quotes about rebels. Here are my favorites:

“When I need to identify rebels, I look for men with principles.” – Frank Herbert

“Listen, smile, agree and then go do whatever the f*** you were going to do anyway.” – Robert Downey, Jr.

“Do not read the next sentence. … (you little rebel, I like you)” – anonymous

“Sure, I always chose rebels to identify with – I still do – but to me, a rebel isn’t so much someone who breaks the law as someone who goes against the odds.” – William Peterson

“What is a rebel? A man who says no.” – Albert Camus

“The greatest pleasure in life is doing what people say you cannot do.” – anonymous

And here’s my favorite:

“Here’s to the crazy ones, the misfits, the rebels, the troublemakers, the round pegs in the square holes… the ones who see things differently — they’re not fond of rules… You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them, but the one thing you can’t do is ignore them because they change things… they push the human race forward, and while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius, because the ones who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.” – Jack Kerouac

What’s your favorite quote about rebels?

Mary Sutton | @mary_sutton73

Author: Liz Milliron

Liz Milliron has been making up stories, and creating her own endings for other people's stories, for as long as she can remember. She's worked for fifteen years in the corporate world, but finds making things up is far more satisfying than writing software manuals. A lifelong mystery fan, her short fiction has been published in online magazines Uppagus and Mysterical-e. She has also had stories included in Lucky Charms: 12 Crime Tales, Blood on the Bayou (the 2016 Bouchercon anthology), Fish Out of Water, and Mystery Most Historical. She is a past president of the Pittsburgh chapter of Sisters in Crime. Visit her online at http://lizmilliron.com, find her on Facebook at https://facebook.com/LizMilliron, or follow her on Twitter (@LizMilliron).

13 thoughts on “Final thoughts on rebels”

  1. This whole series about rebels was great — lots of “thought-provoking” inspirations and comments. Thanks

  2. LOL! I agree, Kait! No idea. But, great quotes, Mary! I wonder if we become writers to write about those things we are told we cannot do?

  3. Love the little bit of rebellion in this post! The Kerouac quote is awesome! (Even if I am sooooo not a rebel. Except for being a writer, as Mary said!)

  4. LOL! Loving these comments. Jack Kerouac quote is one of my favorites. It’s taken me a VERY long time to get comfortable with rebelling, and I still do it only a little–and mostly at work. (Go figure!) One of my best managers ever (well, he was a crappy manager, but a great mentor) taught me the “better to beg forgiveness than ask permission” approach to corporate america, and it’s served me well. Haven’t figured out how to apply it comfortably in my personal life, but I’m working on it.

    thehouseofballey, sounds intriguing!

Leave a Reply

