Vacation!

We had so much fun presenting our first every Summer Reading Bonanza, and we hope you all did, too. (Please share your feedback on our new event in the comments!) Congrats to all our winners–I’m a little envious of the prize packages we handed out. Huge shout out and thank you to Diane Vallere for being the creative driving force behind this event. She’s amazing!

Today’s post is going to be a bit on the shorter side (mostly because I planned poorly). You see, our family is heading out for our first ever summer vacation! Usually, we use up our vacation hours when munchkin has school breaks. This year, we were able to save some for a summer trip. We’re renting a cottage with another family on a lake in New Hampshire, and we can’t wait to get there. I’m woefully unprepared, and of course, did not write this post nearly early enough. (I should probably pack, too. Soon.)

I’m bringing a couple of top priority items on this vacation: books from my TBR pile and my new tablet, with a loaded up Kindle library.  I’ve got Donna White Glaser’s book one in the Letty Whitaker series, Jim & Joyce Lavene’s book one in the new Pumpkin Patch series (a preview copy!), Hallie Ephron’s Never Tell a Lie, and a whole bunch more. I’ve been adding all the Mysteristas’ books I can get my hands on, and I’m so excited for the new ones (Diane!). I’ve also got the laptop and the WIP loaded into Scrivener. In all honesty, I’m not sure how much I’ll get to do, and I’m refusing the stress about anything–I’m on VACATION! But I’m really, really hoping to do a lot of reading and writing.

Do you have any relaxing summer trips planned–especially ones that will let you read? What’s your must-have reading material for a day at the beach or the lake? Where’s your bookmark right now? We’d love to hear from you!

Have a wonderful first week of August everyone!

Author: Pamela A. Oberg

Pamela is a portfolio manager at an educational assessment company by day, writer by night. Founder of Writers on Words (a discussion and critique group), Pamela enjoys spinning tales of murder and mayhem, with an occasional foray into the world of the paranormal.

11 thoughts on “Vacation!”

  1. A cottage on a lake – color me envious. We won’t get to go anywhere this summer except a long Labor Day weekend to visit my dad because The Boy had a ton of Scout-related activities. Oh well. And you will love Never Tell a Lie (well, you’ll probably love all of them, but that’s one I’ve read).

    Enjoy your vacation!

    Like

  2. Sounds DIVINE – have a wonderful time. NH is a great place for vacation. The edits on my next book are due on August 31. Any days off between then and now are edit intensive! Our next vacation is in October when we go to Bouchercon in Raleigh. We have some friends in NC and we plan on visiting. So we are really looking forward to that. I should mention that since my main character is a SCUBA diver, my research trips are equal to other peoples’ idea of vacation. My idea of ideal reading on vacation an uninterrupted hour or so in in the hammock. Yum.

    Like

  3. Lake, family & friends, books… Sounds like heaven to me! I’ve only had some weekend trips this summer, which have been fantastic, but not much time for reading. My next big read-a-thon will come in February on a cruise.

    Like

  4. Oh, Pamela, how great! Have a wonderful time and dip your toe into the water for me.

    3 no 7, you are so right about the packing.

    Kait, after hearing about your research trips, now I am thinking I may need to start a series about a globe-trotting sleuth! 😉

    Like

  5. Enjoy a much deserved vacation. I loved the weekly contest (especially because I won the first and was thrilled with what I received). It’s fun to hear from the author’s and read about new books.
    thanks.

    Like

  6. We’ve had our vacation, a few days away over the Fourth, then my parents took the kids while I went to a writing conference, followed by the big kids going to camp for five days. Now, we just have to make it through August with day trips and cooking day camp for my 10yo.

    I really enjoyed the Summer Reading Bonanza. And not just because I won the second week. I did feel bad that my commenting dropped after I won because I was busy with my first big writing conference and getting kids ready for camp. It was a great way to spend July.

    Like

  7. Glad to hear folks enjoyed the Bonanza – it was a lot of fun (although a lot of work – thank you, Diane!) for us, too.

    3 no 7, I’m with you. If you forgot it, it probably means it wasn’t that important to start with.

    Like

  8. Katherine, those first big writing conferences are so special. You’ve just reminded me fondly of the thrill of my first big one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

