Interview: Samantha Bohrman

Summer Reading Bonanza News: Read through to the end to see the Week 4 winner announcement!  Commenters on today’s post will be entered into next week’s drawing.

Please welcome Samantha Bohrman, author of Ruby’s Misadventures with Reality.

What’s your idea of a perfect day?
To people without kids my perfect day will sound ordinary. To me, it is the stuff of dreams. Here goes: I wake up before the kids and have a cup of coffee. The kids don’t fight all day long. A babysitter comes over while I write for three hours. Because this is a fantasy, I’m going to have the babysitter do the dishes and bake a pie. Finally, my husband surprises me with takeout from Zen Box.

Note: As I write this, the children are hurling an inflatable chair over my head and screaming.

Do you have a signature accessory, color, fragrance, phrase, or meal?
rubyMy signature scent used to be Allure by Chanel, now it is probably vomit and stale coffee. No one has vomited on me yet today, but it’s probably coming. Once, one of the children vomited down my shirt while I was in line for a coffee. I just hugged her tight and ordered a larger coffee. No one mentioned it.

Excluding family, name three people who either inspired you or influenced your creativity.
Jane Austen. She is my lodestar. Growing up, I read all of her books until they fell apart.
Kristi Belcamino. She is the consummate professional. She works like a mad woman and mothers like a bear.
John Kennedy Toole because I’ve never laughed so hard while reading.

Do you listen to music when you write?
Most of the time I write during my baby’s naps or when the rest of the family is sleeping, so music is a no. I’m electrified by silence.

If your latest book were chocolate, what kind would it be and why?
It would be a chocolate cake with a cake topper. Let’s just make it a wedding cake. Someone will steal the cake topper. That’ll symbolize the mystery. All suspects will be members of the wedding party and they’ll never get to change out of their bridal attire — hot pink dresses for the girls and matching cummerbunds for the boys. Some of them will hook up. Also, I think it should have strawberry crème filling and some sort of drizzle.

What made you interested in writing Ruby’s Misadventures with Reality?
I was studying for the Minnesota State Bar Exam and I got so distracted I wrote a book. True story. The book is an outpouring of my frustrations with the Kaplan study materials and my despair at the thought of confronting a demanding career and motherhood at the same time.

What themes do you regularly (re)visit in your writing?
The challenge of being authentic in a plastic world. The demands of career and motherhood. The environment. Nuclear holocaust. Don’t worry, though. You’ll barely notice. There is a lot of frosting on the thematic underpinnings.

Tell us about your main character’s psyche or personality. What led her to be the person she is today?
Ruby grew up blinded by the American dream. She made career and life decisions like she was shopping for shoes. Her misadventures begin when she’s supposed to begin her life as an adult without the practical skills to manage her day-to-day affairs.

Describe your protagonist as a mash-up of three famous people or characters.
Becky Bloomwood from the Shopaholic Series, Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum, and Elle Woods from Legally Blonde.

If you could host an author dinner party, who are the six writers (living or otherwise) you’d include?
Stephen King, Norah Roberts, Jane Austen, the person who wrote the story about Bat Boy for the Weekly World News, one or two people I know from Twitter, and a wildcard guest. I’d provide lots of liquor and insist on no name tags to keep things fun.

What’s next for you?
Ruby’s Misadventures with Reality has a sequel that will come out next winter. I also have a couple of manuscripts on my hard drive in the revision stage. They’re both darker comedies. My editor wants me to write something sexy. You can keep abreast of my goings-on on www.sambohrman.com.

***

Shortly after graduating from law school, Samantha had three children and started writing novels. She never looked back, though she suspects her husband has. Ruby’s Misadventures with Reality is her first book, but hopefully not her last. Connect with Samantha on Facebook, Twitter (@sambohrman), and at www.sambohrman.com.

 

w

9 thoughts on “Interview: Samantha Bohrman”

  1. This sound like a fun series to read. The interview was great and made me want to read the book.

  2. Oh this sounds like a wonderful book. Congratulations on accepting the challenges of the law, motherhood, and authorship all at one time.

  3. Samantha, my kids are now teenagers, but I remember the days when they were young. So your day sounds heavenly! “Making life decisions like shopping for shoes” – I know some young people who would relate to that statement. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. One reason I love Sam so much – besides her wicked sense of humor – is she is one of the most dedicated and hardest working writers I know. She is super talented and utterly nonchalant about juggling the demands of mothering three small children and putting out awesome books at the same time.

  5. Kristi, well said!

    Sam, I’m intrigued by the Oz connection in the title/series title–can you tell us more? (Also, LOVE this interview and LOVE your voice and am so excited to read RUBY, which I’ve ordered. Thanks for visiting us!)

  6. Love your answers! (Sorry about the vomit.) Ruby sounds like a fascinating character, and I look forward to checking her out!

    Congrats to Kate! Have fun reading!

Leave a Reply

