Dreams Give Birth to Goals

We’ve been talking about dreams this month, and so many wonderful things have been said. There are the rules–meant to be broken, where appropriate–as well as dreams coming true (Congrats, Cynthia!). Today, I’m thinking about how without dreams, I’m not sure we can set meaningful goals. I’m not talking about the little goals, like getting both the laundry put away AND the dishes done. I’m talking about the big goals, the scary goals, the goals that, in my mind, give life real purpose.

I share many of the same dreams my Mysterista sisters do; a publishing deal, a successful book launch, sky high sales figures of said book. Those are the dreams. From those? Goals. Sadly, we can’t wake up from the dream and arrive at success, all within the same few minutes. But, we can let those dreams give birth to purpose, to direction.

I realize it’s May, but I’m finally setting my goals for the next few months. I’m going to finish the first draft (often lovingly called the “vomit” draft) of my novel-in-progress. I’m going to take a break from it, and write a couple of short stories. Then, I will begin revising that draft, moulding it into a stronger, tighter, better version of what it will eventually become. That’s it. Those are my goals between now and November. My dream of being a successful novelist, success being defined by a contract to start, has given birth to these goals. As I work toward these goals, I’m working toward my dreams, which is pretty darn cool.

I kind of love them.

Author: Pamela A. Oberg

Pamela is a portfolio manager at an educational assessment company by day, writer by night. Founder of Writers on Words (a discussion and critique group), Pamela enjoys spinning tales of murder and mayhem, with an occasional foray into the world of the paranormal.

8 thoughts on “Dreams Give Birth to Goals”

  1. That’s an excellent plan, Pamela. Dreams can be sky-high (NYT bestseller list anyone?), but goals need to be something you can control (finishing that first draft). Good luck!

    Like

  2. Dreams sometimes feel like things that could never happen. I love goals, which create a pathway to our dreams, and I think it’s necessary to let ourselves dream/imagine a life where we can do what we want to do, because otherwise, we’d be content to just exist. But do you think you know when you achieve your dreams? Does a revised dream slot into place and keep you striving for more, more, more?

    Like

  3. I’ve learned to get specific with my goals. Still working towards my dreams, but I’m a lot closer than I used to be because I keep setting goals, meeting them, and setting some more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

