Who are you–today?

This month’s topic of masks really resonates with me. My first post related to the masks of writing under a pen name. This post will relate to the many masks of modern life.

We all wear masks, not to hide behind, but to cope with the demands we put ourselves through on a daily basis.

This has been a bad year for my cats. My eldest, Starlight, died in my arms on New Year’s Day. Fred hadn’t been quite right, but we thought he was in mourning. Cats do that. Just like humans. And Fred had been close to Star. In February, we took him to the vet who discovered he was in the terminal stages of kidney failure. His only hope, daily subcutaneous hydration and EPO injections (the stuff that disqualified Lance Armstrong) given every other day. Home Health Care mask firmly in place, I made sure Fred had what he needed. While that was going on, I had minor surgery. Patient mask enter, stage left.

Last week started as usual. Sunday was devoted to final edits of my newest book Death by Doubloons. Have you heard about those edits before? They do seem endless, but really, I am almost through and ready to send the baby off to the publisher. Wish me luck. That was my writer mask. Which manages to switch seamlessly with my wife/cook/housekeeper masks.

On Monday, Fred wanted to spend the day out walking. My husband took him out on his leash (see photo – he loved to walk on a leash) at least seven or eight times. I spent the day working at my day job and thinking we were making real progress and would have him for a while longer. That was my self-deception mask, but I didn’t know it then.Fred on the leash

On Tuesday, Fred let us know that he was ready to leave us for the Rainbow Bridge and we took him to the vet. I can’t lie. I spent the day in tears. No matter how prepared you think you are you are never prepared enough. I was heartbroken, and it wasn’t a mask.Fred at the fireplace

Wednesday, I had to work all day and then leave home to travel to Miami to spend two days working in the office there. My day job is paralegal, and spending the next two days in tears was not an option so I hid behind my cheerful professional mask. I am lucky to work with a great bunch of people. My co-workers knew of my loss, and they were sensitive to it.

Friday saw me leaving my office and making the two and a half hour drive home. Being tired to the bone was not a mask either.

Saturday was amazing. I took part in Beach Reads in Clearwater, Florida. The Clearwater Library hosted us. The day started bright and sunny, which was good since I had a three-hour drive ahead of me. Clearwater is a wonderful town. It’s celebrating its 100th anniversary and is very quaint. To celebrate the anniversary, the town has commissioned dolphin statues and they turn up everywhere. Best of all I was on a panel with Katheryn J. Bain, Susan Santangelo, and Wendy Dingwall. Three of the best mystery writers in Florida. The turnout was fantastic. It is always an honor to meet readers. We had a great time. Then it was off to drive home.Clearwater Beach Reads 2015-4-11 005

Sunday completed the week, but this time, I was too tired to put on my writer mask. Instead, I indulged in my laze about the house in jammies mask and took the time to recuperate from the emotional turmoil of the week.

How about you, readers. What masks do you wear?

Author: kaitcarson

I write mysteries set in South Florida. The Hayden Kent series is set in the Florida Keys. Hayden is a SCUBA diving paralegal who keeps finding bodies. Underwater, no one can hear you scream! Catherine Swope is a Miami Realtor with a penchant for finding bodies in the darndest places. I live in an airpark in Fort Denaud, FL with my husband, six cats and three birds. And oh yes, a Piper Cherokee 6 in the hangar!

11 thoughts on “Who are you–today?”

  1. So sorry about your kitty losses. I still mourn mine. You’re right, we have to wear our masks to get through the daily stuff. I am putting on my painter’s mask for the next 3 days and pretending to be an artist! (At least I get to hang out with them, with my mask on.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Mary, Sue and Theresa. I don’t know how we could live without a handful of masks in our life. Sue, I want to hear about your painter’s mask. That sounds like a lot of fun! I’m living vicariously since I have a hard time making stick figures. Theresa, I am so sorry about Wizzie. And you are right, animals read your heart. No masks there!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kait, It’s such a hard loss to handle. I could cry right now for my cat who went over the Rainbow Bridge in 2006.

    I’ve been thinking a lot about our daily masks lately. I know I wore a mask when I worked as a buyer, and these days I wear ones for: girlfriend, president, writer, volunteer, and crafter. Some fit more naturally than others.

    Great post, and glad the event went well!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks Diane, and HAPPY LAUNCH DAY! Thanks for the Fred thoughts. He came home today and we have a great paw print too. I’m glad today was as busy as it was. Took my mind off things.

    We do wear a lot of masks. When I think of the people I love, it’s always the ones with whom I don’t have to wear any masks (and they still love me).

    Like

Leave a Reply

