Reflection at an end

It’s three weeks into 2015, and I’m already done reflecting. Done. Finito. Sayonara to reflection. In the last six weeks, I’ve had two very close family members pass away. Therefore, a lot of my recent time has been spent in the mental past. In memories—thinking of them, discussing them, sharing them in general (yay, social media).

And, you know what? That type of reflection is exhausting. It’s mentally draining to dwell in the past. Even if it is a normal, comforting part of the healing process.

Therefore, I’m ready to stop reflecting and start looking ahead. I’m hoping 2015 has its dancing shoes on, because I’d really like to have a good time. Because, somehow, making new memories is much less taxing than rehashing old ones.

When do you feel like you’ve hit your reflection limit? Is it situational? Or is there a point where you think your brain is just ready to move on?

7 thoughts on “Reflection at an end”

  1. Sarah, first, I’m so sorry. I can see where you’d be ready to make some new memories. Your situation sounds a lot like how I know it’s time to move on. A switch gets flipped somewhere and all I can think is “enough of this – time for new stuff!”

    Like

  2. So sorry for your losses, Sarah! And you’re so right–reflecting is part of the process, but there is that point where the reflection is no longer serving a purpose. For me, I stop reflecting when I realize it’s making me feel worse, causing me to avoid looking forward, or is simply too unproductive. Then I know it’s time to look forward, move forward, and move from reflecting to remembering. Hugs to you!

    Like

  3. First Sarah, I am so sorry for your losses. I think, like you, that there is a time where reflection must change to anticipation. It sounds like you have moved on to that point. I stop reflecting when I realize that I have stopped remembering the happy times of shared joy. That’s when I try to move on to the future and anticipate the good to come. I too hope that 2015 has its dancing shoes on. Big hugs!

    Like

  4. Sarah, we all feel for you. And I’m starting to understand why, in the middle of tragedy, people ask, “how are YOU doing?” You’re right; it’s exhausting. And you’re also right to look ahead and hope for a different sort of news.

    As to your question, some days I have to reflect to draw on sad or stressful times so I can pull those emotions into my writing. Sometimes my subconscious revisits bad times in my nightmares. But there is always the optimistic part of me that wants to move on and see a clear, bright future.

    Like

  5. So tragic! Condolences and hugs, Sarah. Wishing you a better year ahead.

    And thank you for raising the idea that there are times when reflection needs to be replaced with something more comforting and sustaining. Very important concept.

    Like

Leave a Reply

