Happy 2015!

It’s January 2015, the month named for the Roman God Janus, who has two faces because he looks both backwards and forwards, back to the past and forward to the future.             Janus

Isn’t that what we do on New Year’s Day? We assess our lives. We think back about the good and bad of last year. I published short stories last year and worked on a novel that I’m going to finish in 2015. Oh, wait. We aren’t there yet. We got a new kitten who was feral and escaped at a young age, so we spent the summer taming her and making her safe again. Now she is one big joy in our lives, except for our other cat who is still holding out hope that she will disappear. My domestic unit offered a tour to Peru and fell in love with that area. We did a lot of cleaning up and rearranging because kittens can find all the dust bunnies in the house and other unmentionables in the garage. My work place went through changes that are promising.

What do I hope for in 2015? As I already said, to finish the novel I’m working on, get it published, get a movie contract, make thousands of dollars, and write full time. We should all aim high, right? Then I’ll work on the next one. Maybe finish it in 2015, too! I also hope the cats will finally accept each other. I look forward to traveling. I have the south of France, Italy, Ireland, Peru and Bolivia, and India on my bucket list right now. Our Egypt friends are coming to the states to do workshops and will stop off here in Boulder to offer one. My grandbabies will get way too big way too fast, but I’ll enjoy visiting when I can.

You’ll notice these aren’t resolutions, but hopes and dreams. What are your hopes and dreams, your resolutions, for this sparkling New Year?

Author: Theresa Crater

Award-winning author Theresa Crater brings ancient temples, lost civilizations and secret societies back to life in her visionary fiction. In The Star Family, a Gothic mansion holds a secret spiritual group and a 400-year-old ritual that must be completed to save the day. The shadow government search for ancient Atlantean weapons in the fabled Hall of Records in Under the Stone Paw and fight to control ancient crystals sunk beneath the sea in Beneath the Hallowed Hill. Her short stories explore ancient myth brought into the present day. The most recent include “The Judgment of Osiris” and “Bringing the Waters.” Theresa has also published poetry and a baker’s dozen of literary criticism. Currently, she teaches writing and British lit in Denver.

6 thoughts on “Happy 2015!”

  1. I hope all your hopes come true in 2015. Good points that January is all about looking back and ahead. Reminds me of the Santayana quote ‘Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.’ Cataloging your hopes and remembering your past seems a great way to move forward. Happy New Year.

    Like

  2. My hope and dream is to see some publications from those 150,000 words I plan to write. Best wishes for all our dreams to come true!

    Like

  3. Inspiring post! I hope that all of your goals come true. Knowing you, they absolutely will.

    And “except for our other cat who is still holding out hope that she will disappear” made me laugh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

