Interview: J.A. Kazimer

Please welcome J.A. Kazimer, author of the Deadly Ever After series, Wilde Crime series, and Assassin’s series.

What’s your idea of a perfect day?
My perfect day starts with waking up late. Sometime around noon is nice. Take the pups out for a quick walk, and The Fairyland Murders_ebook (1)then hit a bookstore followed by a museum or other activity before enjoying a four course meal. Then winding up on the couch with a movie or one of the books I purchased earlier in the day, add in a bottle of whiskey and a hot guy and my perfect day is complete.

Do you have a signature accessory, color, fragrance, phrase, or meal?
Does the smell of dog work as a signature scent? If not, I have to go with the color pink and salads. I love both very much.

Excluding family, name three people who either inspired you or influenced your creativity.
I am in awe of so many authors, and many books, movies, and songs so witling it down to three is tough. But the top ones are Oscar Wilde, Christopher Moore, and Art Alexakis. Would you believe that question took me an hour to answer?

Do you listen to music when you write?
Absolutely. I need background noise. I tend toward indie rock and some pop. Right now as I’m answering this question, I’m listening to Frank Turner’s England Keep My Bones.

If your latest book were chocolate, what kind would it be and why?
Something fun sized and dark. My last book, The Fairyland Murders, uses humor with a dark, noir style.

What made you interested in writing this particular story?
I love a good murder, and what is better than a string of Tooth Fairies strung up by dental floss? I also adore my hero. His name is Blue, and he is flawed nearly beyond belief and snarky, which makes me love him that much more.

What themes do you regularly (re)visit in your writing?
Flawed characters are a big part of all my novels. I love to explore how dysfunction impacts a plot. Without character flaws, a protagonist would be boring, so I like to add in as many as I can and still make them the hero.

Tell us about your main character’s psyche or personality. What led her (or him) to be the person s/he is today?
When Blue was six months old, he was left on the doorstep of an orphanage. The nuns who took him in called him, Little Boy Blue, as he had and still has a shock of bright blue hair as well as the ability to conduct electricity. This ability makes it impossible for him to touch or be touched by anyone without causing pain.

Describe your protagonist as a mash-up of three famous people or characters.
Part Sam Spade, part Grumpy the dwarf from Snow White, and total slacker from any 90’s movie.

If you could host an author dinner party, who are the six writers (living or otherwise) you’d include?
Oscar Wilde would sit head of the table, Christopher Moore, Luke Davies, Julie Garwood, Tim Dorsey and Dave Barry. This would make for a fabulous and quite perfect day too.

What’s next for you?
I’m currently in the final revision stage of Book 2, The Lady in Pink, in the Deadly Ever After Series (Book 1 is The Fairyland Murders), at the same time I am writing book 2 in The Assassin’s series, The Assassin’s Kiss. Following that, a nice long nap sounds in order.

***

J.A. Kazimer is a writer living in Denver, CO. When she isn’t looking for the perfect place to hide the bodies, she spends her time surrounded by cats with attitude and a little puppy named Killer. Other hobbies include murdering houseplants, kayaking, snowboarding, reading and theater. In addition being a writer, Kazimer spent a few years spilling drinks on people as a bartender and then wasted another few years stalking people while working as a private investigator in the Denver area. Her novels include: CURSES! A F***ed-Up Fairy Tale, Holy Socks & Dirtier Demons, Dope Sick: A Love Story, SHANK, Froggy Style, The Assassin’s Heart, and The Fairyland Murders. Forthcoming novels include The Lady in Pink and The Assassin’s Kiss.

www.jakazimer.com
www.facebook.com/JulieAKazimer
@jakazimer

Amazon buy link: http://www.amazon.com/Fairyland-Murders-J-Kazimer-ebook/dp/B00LGZ9JL4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1418317256&sr=8-1&keywords=kazimer
Barnes & Noble buy link: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-fairyland-murders-ja-kazimer/1119908501?ean=9781601832610

16 thoughts on “Interview: J.A. Kazimer”

  1. Can’t wait to read about Blue’s adventures. And “Deadly Ever After” is an amazing series title. Thanks so much for visiting us!

    ps: “what is better than a string of Tooth Fairies strung up by dental floss” = hilarious!

  2. Hey you, Welcome to Mysteristas! Last time I saw you we were neighbors at the Longmont Library seeing if we could sell some books. Love your perfect day and your signature fragrance. I agree with Sue that “Tooth Fairies strung up by dental floss” grabbed me. I don’t know if you or Mario are the craziest writers I know–and that’s a compliment.

  3. Completely late to the party (sorry!), but I love this interview! And I can’t wait to add your work to my TBR pile. This sounds like my kind of reading, for sure. (Of course, my TBR pile is fast becoming a legitimate hazard site, but hey, what can you do with all these fab books available?!?) I’m looking forward to meeting Blue. Thanks for a great interview!

Leave a Reply

