Bouchercon 2014 Memories

Another conference comes to a close. This time it was Bouchercon 45. Great conference, though, since it was my first Bouchercon, it was a bit overwhelming. 2,000 people and more fantastic panels than I could possibly attend in a month. I was still on the high of having a book come out earlier in the month, and even high humidity that contributed to some bad hair days couldn’t knock me down.

Lessons learned: take pictures. Lots and lots of pictures. (I did not). Try to get a room in the conference hotel (I did not), wear flats (I did), and know that at some point of a conference, I will get exhausted to the point of crankiness (I did).

The week in pictures and comments:

Tuesday: Took the train from Hollywood. Conference travel for $1.75. Can’t beat that. Roommate and bestie (and Mysterista Emeritus) Kendel Lynn and I headed off to the grocery store for conference essentials.1116141141-01

The extra glamorous view outside of our hotel room. Not to worry, we only needed that room to sleep, eat bowls of cereal, and establish the fact that when we’re away from home, we live like rock stars.

Wednesday: Fabulous day of forensics with Sisters in Crime. No photos. Totally worth it. Just one of many reasons why it’s important to belong to Sisters in Crime!

Thursday: Kicked the day off with Author Speed Dating. After brief pitch rehearsing, we were ready to hit the ground running. Then off to the Hyatt to fill up the swag table, mingle with friends, and take in some panels.

1113141702-01

“Short But Mighty” panel Speaking of rock stars, these peeps have staked their claim on short story territory. Craig Faustus Buck, Travis Richardson, Barb Goffman, Robert Lopresti, Paul D. Marks, and Art Taylor. Art Taylor went on to win the McCavity award later the same night. Congrats, Art!

Henery PressWith a few members of the Henery Press team: Lyndee Walker, Kendel Lynn, Annette Dashofy, Sybil Johnson, Susan M. Boyer, and Wendy Tyson

1113141812-01The “Hollywood Premiere” Opening Ceremonies at the Pacific Ballroom. Half an hour later, this place was packed.

Friday: Big day for me. Not one, but two sessions. Powered up on Cheerios and coffee and hit the ground running!

1114141102-00My fellow panelists for the Sassy, Sexy, and Smart Protagonist panel on Friday: Elaine Viets, Hilary Davidson, James, Ziskin, and Andrew Mayne.

1114141449-02Later on Friday, my pincushion cupcake panel! So, yes, me posing by the sign, that you cannot read. In my special Bouchercon apron, designed and crafted for this very event.

1114141538-01The graduating class of pincushion cupcake school!

1114141543-01And just in case you need a close-up, here’s a pincushion cupcake.

Saturday: After a fantastic breakfast with Sisters in Crime, where I managed to both tear up and forget to take photos, I headed out to the conference.

1115140956-00The Fine Art of Murder panel with Juliet Blackwell, Kate Carlisle, Sheila Connelly, Kendel Lynn, Reba White Williams, and Jane Cleland.

Grit Panel“We’ve Got Grit” panel. I moderated, and may I say this ended up being a conference highlight? With John McFetridge, Charles Salzberg, David Stout, and David Swinson.

Sunday: After the conference, Susan Boyer, Kendel Lynn, and I headed off to the Queen Mary for High Tea.

1116141254-01

Tea…right.

Monday: As always, it was great to get away from real life and exist in the world of mysteries for a week, but all too quickly it was time to go home. Back to the grindstone tomorrow!

Author: Diane Vallere

Diane is the author of four mystery series. Like her character Samantha Kidd, she is a former fashion buyer; like her character Madison Night, she loves Doris Day movies, like her character Polyester Monroe, she lives in California; and like her character Margo Tamblyn, she has a thing for costumes. Find out more at http://dianevallere.com/.

8 thoughts on “Bouchercon 2014 Memories”

  1. Loved this report, Diane. I’ve signed up for 2015 and excited about it. I DID book the Conference hotel! One comment, you might want to check the little box when you are adding your photos (you have to go to Edit) so the pix open in a new link. Otherwise, when I click on a photo, and leave it, I leave the post and have to go back to the original email link. Keep us on the page!

  2. Fantastic recap! I really need to get back to Bouchercon. And yes on comfortable shoes. Remind me to tell you about Annette literally giving me the shoes off her feet in Cleveland!

  3. This is so wonderful, Diane! You’ve really captured a lot. That Sassy, Sexy, and Smart Protagonist panel was incredible, and the SinC breakfast too. I was in awe at how much you did, and please let me say how fabulous you were at doing each and every thing, too.

    ps: adore your version of high tea…you three are so funny!

Leave a Reply

