Help, I’m Falling

Hi all, I’m Kait Carson, a new Mysterista. Thank you all for last month’s lovely welcome. I am thrilled to be here.

I am struggling with this falling theme though for three reasons. First, the earworm – I won’t quote the lyrics but Don Robertson and Hal Blair wrote them and Hank Locklin and Patty Loveless sang them.  Ok, now you know the worm, and now that I’ve passed it on…whew, I finally got rid of it.

The second reason is that I fall for fun. Out of perfectly good airplanes (so they say) and perfectly good boats, (see comment about airplanes). I confess I haven’t done the airplane thing in a while, but – I have plans.  Falling out of boats, is as easy as rolling over backwards, I do it every chance I get. One of my heroines, Hayden Kent, is a scuba diver too. I like to think she got that trait from me. Of course, she finds dead bodies and the most I’ve ever found is a very well used scuba gun, and a quarter. Not in the same place.

The third reason is that every time I’ve fallen into something, it’s been good luck and a lot of fun. Let’s see, when I was thirteen, I wrote a letter to the editor and fell into a contract with an agent. He didn’t know I was thirteen, but I did write and publish a lot of short stories in teenage type magazines. Then I fell into the University of Miami where I learned to fall down cliffs and climb up chimneys in caves. Rappelling and repelling is fun too. Oh yes, UM is where I learned to fall out of boats too. They called it recreation for life. Little did they know.  I graduated with some degrees too, but that’s a minor detail. Then I moved to New York and fell into a job as a secretary that led to a job back in Miami that led me to living in the Caribbean. Hey, somebody has to do it. There are worse places to hang your hat than Sint Maarten. Back to Miami, I fell into a job as a secretary (again, is there a theme here?). That job led to a career as a paralegal, that led me back to writing stories based in Miami about ex cops, lawyers and Realtors, and stories based in the Keys about a paralegal who falls out of boats. You see where this is going. I was even lucky enough to fall into an invitation to be a Mysterista. It doesn’t get much better.

So you see, falling holds no fear for me. I love it. What about you? Do you fall on your feet too?

Author: kaitcarson

I write mysteries set in South Florida. The Hayden Kent series is set in the Florida Keys. Hayden is a SCUBA diving paralegal who keeps finding bodies. Underwater, no one can hear you scream! Catherine Swope is a Miami Realtor with a penchant for finding bodies in the darndest places. I live in an airpark in Fort Denaud, FL with my husband, six cats and three birds. And oh yes, a Piper Cherokee 6 in the hangar!

20 thoughts on “Help, I’m Falling”

  1. Hi, Kait,

    An unusual topic! However, it works well for a mystery writer. Death by falling is certainly a traditional means of murder. I’ve had a few nightmares about falling off a cliff, but I’m a planner not a faller by nature. My older son has gone skydiving–not my cup of tea. I’d rather save the danger for my mystery novels.

  2. Welcome Kait! I’ve fallen out of boats – well, not exactly. I swam out into the water and “fell” to 101′ diving The Wall off St. Croix. Fun stuff. And living in the Caribbean? Yeah, someone’s got to do it. I haven’t fallen into nearly as much fiction success as you have, but I’m working on it (if I trip myself does it count?).

  3. Hi Mary, tripping yourself definitely counts! The St. Croix wall is spectacular. I love having the structure on one side and the gorgeous azure on the other. Oh, I want to go back. Danger, Will Robbins 🙂

  4. Sint Maarten?? Isn’t that the place where bathers fall down on the beach due to super low, incoming airplanes about to land? Welcome, Kait!

  5. I used to literally fall down a lot. As in, stumble on the street and face plant. it happened frequently enough that it became a thing about me, enough that I learned to shake off the embarrassment quickly and move on. I always felt as though it was a lesson: trying to do too much, too fast, trying to get where I wanted to go without taking the necessary time, etc.. Life has calmed down a bit for me and I haven’t fallen down in awhile. Hmmm. Maybe I just got tomorrow’s blog post!

  6. Great post, Kait! We’re like two sides of a coin–love to fall/hate to fall! Although, I’m okay with the falling out of the boat thing (mostly). Look at all the lovely things that you’ve experienced, I would argue, at least in part because you seem not to worry at all about the falling part. I love it! Hmm. . .I feel some sort of inspiration coming on. . .

  7. Falling it not for me, Kait. But I am glad that you’ve fallen into most of the great things in life, including writing! Love your MC–good luck with Henery!

  8. Hi, Kate! What a delightful post! Sounds like you lead a fun life. Good for you!
    Janice (a “True” friend 😉

  9. @Pamela LOL, see, falling is inspiring. I decided early that worrying wouldn’t help – so I learned to “roll” with it. It has made for a fun time.

  10. @E.B., Thanks for the good wishes. Sometimes it’s in the perspective. Someone gave me a “make lemonade” bookmark when I was nine – I took it to heart. 🙂

  11. I’ve fallen a few times myself, including a few reefs and with less water but more impact, in love. And now into this mystery writing thing, which is similar to having fallen into a lovely abyss. I know I can climb out, if I just write. A. Little. More. Kudos for giving us some super imagery.

  12. You are certainly more adventurous than I am, Kait. When I fall as I did a few years ago on wet tile, I cracked my tailbone. I’m more careful these days. Falling into water is much easier, but I’d never jump out of a plane. Good luck when you go again. Now I shall fall back into my routine, which is about the only falling I hope to do

  13. So glad you’re here, Kait! And wow, you’ve had a lot of adventures. I am happy just hearing about them…maybe because you have such a great attitude. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

