Fireworks: Sparkly, Pretty, and Happy Dance-worthy

When I think of fireworks, I think of the pretty, high-in-the-sky, sparkly kind (and not the loud argument kind). I love them all: the big, gold, willow tree ones, the multicolored crackly ones, the tiny little ones that make popping sounds and produce quick flashes of light. To me, there’s no disappointing kind of display (although I will admit, I adore the purple ones). Fireworks are just cheerful and fun.

It’s been kind of a, well, hellish month in my neck of the woods. I’ve packed my office at work to prepare for rumored layoffs (they haven’t materialized, thankfully), my car died (for good this time, which is important as it’s “died” about 412 times before this), a number of other small yet unpleasant things happened, and I found myself in a general funk. Usually, I’m pretty good about taking a deep breath and shaking off the negative thinking, but lately I wasn’t really able to do it. On July 4, which happened to be fireworks day here, it rained. Buckets. *sigh*

But, then, as so often happens, the sun came out, which always makes me happy. Our family attended a beautiful fireworks show on July 5th. And on July 6th, I finally saw the email that had been in my email since the previous day (but was hiding amidst the volumes of junk email), the one that caused a whole internal fireworks show for me: “Congratulations! We are delighted to accept your story, “Waves of Deception” for publication. . .” Yay! YAY!

It is amazing how uplifting even the smallest bit of good news can be. In this case, being published is a BIG piece of news for this fledgling writer. The first time you receive an acceptance letter is definitely cause for celebration. I shared with everyone, and then when the book came out, I carried a copy around with me for months (just in case anyone wanted to see it, of course). But, when I got a rejection for the next piece I submitted, I experienced some major self-doubt. What if I just got lucky the first time? What if I was the only one that wrote a story on the right topic/of the right length/with the right title, and it wasn’t actually all that good? Oy! So, having a second story accepted for publication, especially a very, very different kind of story, makes me feel like maybe, just maybe, I am good at this.  And that feeling causes a whole different kind of internal fireworks for me.

(Oh, and we finally bought a new car–maybe not fireworks-worthy, but there was a happy dance or two, for sure!)

 

 

Author: Pamela A. Oberg

Pamela is a portfolio manager at an educational assessment company by day, writer by night. Founder of Writers on Words (a discussion and critique group), Pamela enjoys spinning tales of murder and mayhem, with an occasional foray into the world of the paranormal.

9 thoughts on “Fireworks: Sparkly, Pretty, and Happy Dance-worthy”

  1. When it rains, it pours, huh? Sorry to hear about all your troubles. But yay on the publication! You are good at this. One rejection does not a failed writer make. Keep it up (and enjoy the new car).

    Like

  2. I don’t know why, but it’s easier to believe the people who reject us than the people who endorse us. But yet–when we do get an acceptance, it’s so much sweeter! Congrats on the story and the car, and I’m glad you got your fireworks!

    Like

  3. Yay! Congrats on the sale! The second sale seems harder for the very reasons you’ve described. Good on you for persevering!

    Like

  4. Thanks all. Things do seem to always work out–I got a promotion at work, too. Go figure! Diane, you make a great observation; we do tend to believe the people who reject us more than those who endorse us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

