Fireworks on Book Launch Day

By Kristi Belcamino
 
A few weeks ago, I became a published author. I have worked for years to get to this point, and yet, when I woke up on the morning of June 10th, 2014, there were no fireworks.
 
But, of course, I didn’t expect any.
 
I know very little, but enough to know not to have high expectations that my whole world would change because I FINALLY had a book out in the big wide world. Even though there were no fireworks, I’ve had some amazing moments that I’ll share:
 
* My husband, who is ruthlessly supportive of my writing career, called our two girls into our bedroom when I awoke and said, “Look at your mama. Does she look any different? Now she’s a published author.”
 
* My husband bought me a dozen red roses.
 
* I got a call from a famous mystery writer to congratulate me and make me laugh about his launch day expectations and how they ended with him crying in a corner at a restaurant. Love this guy. (He also told me “Remember, people you don’t even know will now have your book in their hands!” WOOHOO!)
 
* My writing buddy, Sam, who has a book coming out in December (YAY SAM!) had me and the kids over for amazing scones and super good coffee. (The BEST type of playdate on the planet.)
 
*The reviews that popped up on Amazon blew me away. (They continue to do so!) As my famous mystery writer friend had said would happen: People I DON’T EVEN KNOW are reading and loving my book!!!!!
 
*A woman from high school paid me the best possible compliment I could have ever received as a debut author and it had nothing to do with my book. She told me that she was buying my book because I was kind to her in high school (when other JERKS weren’t) and that 20 years later she wanted people to know I was a good person and that something I didn’t realize I had done made a difference. I cried reading that. A lot.
 
So, there were no fireworks upon becoming a debut author, but there were small, beautiful moments that I will cherish forever.

Author: kristibelcamino

Kristi Belcamino is a crime writer, photographer, and artist who also bakes a tasty biscotti. Her debut mystery, BLESSED ARE THE DEAD, will be published in June 2014. www.kristibelcamino.com

12 thoughts on “Fireworks on Book Launch Day”

  1. ….and your family, who already thought you were amazing, are bragging to all their friends about you!

  2. Start keeping a log of your writing milestones, Kristi. First book published, first month that it sold in double–then triple digits, first 100 reviews, etc. In 5 years, when you are selling oodles of books every month, you will want to look back and see how all those small sparks along the way really are a whole lotta fireworks!

  3. Congrats, Kristi! Too sweet about the old high school classmate. That is an awesome compliment and how wonderful to know that something you did years ago is still having an impact today.

  4. Thank you so much everyone! Mary, you guys have been the BEST. I’m soo lucky for my family and friends and how supportive they’ve been! And love the suggestion of documenting everything~

  5. The best kind of fireworks, Kristi! And I LOVE that comment from the high school friend! That is SO sweet. And not surprising about you in the least. Of course you were nice to her and awesome:)

Leave a Reply

