Interview: Warren Bull

Please welcome Warren Bull, author of Heartland and other works.

What’s your idea of a perfect day?
A perfect day would be a crisp October day so clear that the colors of the leafs look freshly painted. I would spend the day with family and friends eating, drinking, singing and celebrating each otherHeartland.

Do you have a signature accessory, color, fragrance, phrase, or meal?
Yes. I like to dress in period clothing when I do readings. My favorite story to read is a Runyonesque tale named The Wrong Man. I wear a pinstriped suit, a navy shirt with a white tie and a fedora. I look like I’m about to sing “Luck Be a Lady.”

Excluding family, name three people who either inspired you or influenced your creativity.
Mark Twain, Abraham Lincoln and Ray Bradbury.

Do you listen to music when you write?
Only in my head.

If your latest book were chocolate, what kind would it be and why?
Killer Eulogy and Other Stories would be dark chocolate, 90% cocoa, because it is a noir fiction anthology.

What made you interested in writing this particular story?
After I write several funny or uplifting stories I find that writing noir “cleanses my palate” as a writer. Then I can be optimistic again in my work.

What themes do you regularly (re)visit in your writing?
I regularly write about making choices and the consequences that result. I like to write about subcultures that relatively few writers depict such as inner city residents.

Tell us about your main character’s psyche or personality. What led her (or him) to be the person s/he
is today?
My anthology has a different main character in each story. In my most recent novel, Heartland, the main character is an adolescent who has to learn to deal with his father’s abandonment, his grandmother’s recent stroke and the issues of forming a stepfamily.

Describe your protagonist as a mash-up of three famous people or characters.
Huck Finn, Oliver and Kim.

If you could host an author dinner party, who are the six writers (living or otherwise) you’d
include?
Abrahan Lincoln (for his wonderful mastery of American English), Mark Twain, Anton Chekhov, Carolyn Hart, Agatha Christie and the author of the biblical book of Luke.

What’s next for you?
I really don’t know. I have a novel into a publisher who I’ve worked with before. I’m currently working on a novel involving more fantasy than my other works. Part of the writing life is not knowing for certain what is coming next.

****

Warren Bull has won a number of awards including Best Short Story of 2006 from the Missouri Writers’ Guild, The Mysterious Photo Contest in Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine. His mystery short story collection MURDER MANHATTAN STYLE and his noir short story compilation KILLER EULOGY AND OTHER STORIES are available on Untreed Reads. His novels ABRAHAN LINCOLN FOR THE DEFENSE, ABRAHAM LINCOLN: DEATH IN THE MOONLIGHT and HOMELAND are available on Amazon. Warren is a lifetime member of Sisters in Crime and an active member of Mystery Writers of America. He blogs every Friday at http://writerswhokill.blogspot.com/.  For more information, please visit his website at http://www.WarrenBull.com.

6 thoughts on “Interview: Warren Bull”

  1. Hi Warren: What a great idea to wear the period clothing! Applauding that. Thanks for visiting us–looking forward to reading HEARTLAND. (And I would love to hear the conversation at that dinner party, too.)

    Like

  2. Hi Warren, As someone who loves wearing costumes, I love that you dress up for your book signings events! Best of luck with the next projects–even if they’re uncertain, they’re sure to be great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

