The Hand of Fate — or Is It Luck?

It was a lucky day for me when I took a friend’s advice and went to investigate an ancient Mayan artifact that was visiting Hawaii the same time I was. This was a crystal skull named Max. Strange, but I enjoyed the lecture and seeing this curious object. Perfect for a paranormal mystery writer.

When I got back home, I moved to Boulder, and as luck would have it, Max came to visit my new town. I went to visit Max again and met this guy who had studied crystal skulls when he worked as a research scientist for the Rosicrucian Order AMORC in San Jose. He told us all about his research. He was also fascinated with Egypt. In fact, he’d studied Egypt all his life. This was his true love, and he finally went in 1992. One thing led to another, and we became a couple.

We brought each other luck. Stephen started doing yearly tours to Egypt starting the year we got together. I was lucky enough to get a sabbatical in 1999 and even luckier that enough people signed up for that year’s tour so I could come along. That got me started on my first novel, Under the Stone Paw, about the urban legend that a stash of ancient technology is buried beneath the paw of the Sphinx.

My second novel came from a tour we did together in England and Scotland. Stephen came as the Rosicrucian historian, and I got to tag along again. That’s where Beneath the Hallowed Hill was born, a novel exploring several myths of Glastonbury, formerly Avalon.

Luck was with me once more when I was browsing books at the International New Age Book Fair in Denver and found Marsha Keith Schuchard’s book William Blake’s Sexual Path to Spiritual Vision. My husband was off doing an interview on his latest book, so I was wandering. Luck guided my steps. Or fate? Jung’s serendipity? Is there a difference?

The British edition was titled Why Mrs. Blake Cried. Why did she cry? Because Blake wanted to practice sacred sexuality as taught by his mother’s church and Catherine didn’t want to. Blake suggested he have a concubine of sorts. So she cried. Leave it to that randy Sagittarius visionary poet to suggest such a thing.

Wait, what? His mother’s church? The Moravian Lodge in Fetter Lane?

The who? Moravian?

Wait, I was raised in the Moravian Church, and we certainly didn’t condone such activities. No concubines in my neighborhood.

Turns out Blake made that part up based on Abraham of the Old Testament. But Schuchard was right about the sacred sexuality part.

I was floored. Amazed. I had to know more.

This was the lucky start of my last novel. I’m waiting for fate to strike again. Meanwhile, I’m still working on the next two novels. Maybe when I heard about the house falling in on the Giza Plateau because they were digging for antiquities in their basement, that was fate. We shall see.

Author: Theresa Crater

Award-winning author Theresa Crater brings ancient temples, lost civilizations and secret societies back to life in her visionary fiction. In The Star Family, a Gothic mansion holds a secret spiritual group and a 400-year-old ritual that must be completed to save the day. The shadow government search for ancient Atlantean weapons in the fabled Hall of Records in Under the Stone Paw and fight to control ancient crystals sunk beneath the sea in Beneath the Hallowed Hill. Her short stories explore ancient myth brought into the present day. The most recent include “The Judgment of Osiris” and “Bringing the Waters.” Theresa has also published poetry and a baker’s dozen of literary criticism. Currently, she teaches writing and British lit in Denver.

5 thoughts on “The Hand of Fate — or Is It Luck?”

  1. “A crystal skull named Max.” I love that! Sounds like a children’s book. And I have to say, Theresa, I totally ENVY your travel experience. What a wonderful, rich environment to let the muse strike. The basement cave-in hook is tantalizing! Can’t wait to read it!

    Like

  2. What a wonderful post! Love hearing how your books are sparked by your real-life experiences. The topics are SO interesting! And you and Stephen are the perfect match on so many levels. I’m really excited to hear what your next novel is about…

    Like

  3. Thanks, all. Stephen and I are good for each other’s writing and so many other things. I’m taking him to the airport at the crack of dawn tomorrow for his 17th trip to Egypt (I think). I wish I had the bucks to travel more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

