Book-lucky

What makes you feel lucky? Not in the Clint Eastwood, “Do you feel lucky, punk?” kind of way, but in the make-you-feel-good and put-a smile-on-your-face kind of way. For me, it can be many things: attracting a fabulously flashy new bird to my feeders, an unexpected hug from my child, finding money in the pocket of the coat I just pulled out of storage. 

This weekend, I had one of those moments. You see, I have this HUGE pile of books beside my bed. It’s so large, it’s moved from the nightstand to the floor. It’s so large, in fact, that I forget what’s in it. On Saturday, I happened to knock the pile over–yes, this is the lucky part–I realized that I had Julia Spencer-Fleming’s latest book, in hard cover, hiding in the pile. (Signed, too!) Joy! Giddy, dance around my bedroom joy at this find. 

Yep, books definitely make me feel lucky. I love finding new authors to read, new series to try, new characters to fall in love with, and so on. I had a different lucky book moment a week ago. I discovered one of my favorite cozy authors (Janet Bolin) had a new Threadville Mystery available, and I had missed it! The lucky part was finding it by accident (and having time to read that particular day). Oh, and my favorite modern-day author, J.D. Robb, just released her latest. I have had the most book-lucky week! I think those might be my favorite kinds.

I love moments like these. What makes you feel lucky?

Author: Pamela A. Oberg

Pamela is a portfolio manager at an educational assessment company by day, writer by night. Founder of Writers on Words (a discussion and critique group), Pamela enjoys spinning tales of murder and mayhem, with an occasional foray into the world of the paranormal.

3 thoughts on “Book-lucky”

  1. I feel lucky when I walk up to the bus stop & the bus comes shortly thereafter. I call it “good bus luck” 🙂 I enjoyed your post & thinking about this topic with you 🙂

    Like

  2. There is the “lucky to score a parking spot within two blocks of the office.” But there is also the “lucky I picked up this book and discovered a new author.” Both are nice. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

