Interview: Lala Corriere

Please welcome Lala Corriere, author of Evil Cries and other novels of suspense.

What’s your idea of a perfect day?
Waking up to an over-crowded bed. My husband, Chuck, will be at my side, the two teacup Yorkies, Finnigan and Phoebe EVIL CRIESare squeezed in between us, and our American Curl, Charlotte, is in her favorite spot…on my head. With that, it’s Carpe Diem!

Do you
have a signature accessory, color, fragrance, phrase, or meal?
I am totally unpredictable. One day I will wear White Diamonds, and the next day the fragrance is too heavy for me so I go with a juvenile violet scent that comes from the Caribbean. My husband may arrive home to my fabulous Osso Bucco, or he may get a frozen pizza. I do have a phrase I include in every one of my books. Lala Land. Which I guess explains everything. Except for when Chuck came home to find a newborn deer in our dining room.

Excluding family, name three people who either inspired you or influenced your creativity.
Miss Macy. My fourth grade teacher that encouraged me to write. Sidney Sheldon, who read for me, endorsed my writing, and went on to mentor me before his passing. And my soul mate-husband, Chuck Corriere. He is my rock.

Do you listen to music when you write?
I’m very picky about what I listen to depending on what I’m writing, editing, or revising. It might be Yanni or Rachmaninoff, Bolero for steamy sex scenes, and maybe Carmina Burana: O Fortuna for the dark scenes.

If your latest book were chocolate, what kind would it be and why?

Pierre Marcolini bittersweet. My stories are filled with evil persons, but I also try to offer the sweet. I love to show my antagonist’s softer side.

What made you interested in writing this particular story? The ‘meat’ for my latest, Evil Cries, was gifted to me by a retired Philadelphia detective. What seems ludicrous did happen, for truth is stranger than fiction.

What themes do you regularly (re)visit in your writing?

The nefarious. Twists. Not all is what you think it is.

Tell us about your main character’s psyche or personality. What led her (or him) to be the person s/he is today?
Sterling Falls has lost her mother, father, and best friend. So she thinks. She doesn’t dwell on the hurt coiled up in the pit of her stomach. She’s much too busy as the heir to the family business in retail jewelry and gems. While appreciative, she is driven to make her own mark on the company.

Describe your protagonist as a mash-up of three famous people or characters.
Elizabeth Taylor for the elegant style, confidence, and of course, opulent jewels.
Goldie Hawn. Funny. Flirty. Seems naïve but there’s a super smart girl in there.
Mia Farrow. Unresolved pain. Anger. Complexities. Trust issues.

If you could host a mystery-author dinner party, who are the six writers (living or otherwise) you’d include?
Sidney Sheldon
Tim Hallinan
Dean Koontz
Agatha Christie
Mary Higgins Clark… she is INCREDIBLY FUN!
Edgar Allen Poe

What’s next for you?
Kiss & Kill will be released this spring. It seems romance writers are being knocked-off.

Bye Bye Bones is in its infancy, but the title says it all! Release date, Winter-2014.

***

Lala Corriere is the author of three titles in suspense, with the fourth one scheduled for release this spring. Her credits include the endorsement and long-term mentorship from the late Sidney Sheldon, with blurbs from Andrew Neiderman [author of The Devil’s Advocate], Paris Afton Bonds, KT Bryan, and CJ West. Lala’s a desert rat. She nestles there with her husband of 25 years, 2 dogs and a cat.

Facebook: lala.corriere
Twitter: @LalaCorriere
14 thoughts on “Interview: Lala Corriere”

  1. Such a tease! I too need to know about that baby deer. I also had to comment on the cat-on-head syndrome. There’s just something about feline’s that requires them to have the comfiest spot available. Obviously that includes pillows and the “hot spot” of our heads as we sleep. 🙂

    Like

  2. Somebody’s killing romance writers? Is it evil is I want to imagine this as partly a comedy? Such class today! Pierre Marcolini bittersweet, Elizabeth Taylor, White Diamonds. Thanks for classy up our page today.

    Like

  3. Mary & Donna, my husband had run an early errand, and I went out to our backyard for some cleanup on a very chilly morning. A BRAND NEW deer squeaked from behind me, I dropped to the ground and she wobbled right into my arms, very chilly and still wet from the birth. I took her inside to warm her up, then spent the day finding a refuge program for her. Even ran to a ranch where a goat was lactaiding, picked up a baby bottle, and we got her some milk! We enjoyed a great day with her and found her a protective refuge. BTW, I learned that sometimes the mother’s die during birth [we never found her] or they are young and are scared and just run off.
    Thanks, Theresa. i’d love to share my chocolates with you but I don’t have any. 😦 Thank all of you for posting!

    Like

    1. What a story about the fawn. Too bad the mom wasn’t around. Deer used to give birth in our backyard in Boulder, CO, and sometimes the mom would park the fawn on our deck while she went out to graze. My cats made friends. It was wonderful to watch.

      Like

  4. Ooh, how fun! I’m always fascinated by a good thriller, and looking for new ones to read. Baby deer? Really? Definitely a tease! Thanks for sharing–this was a lovely interview. Can’t wait to read your books.

    Like

  5. That deer story is fantastic. Last summer a baby deer had stumbled onto the trail where some friends and I were running. It had something wrong with its eye, but was very brave and when it realized it was being “chased” by us (it was going in the same direction), did an about-face, and came straight at us, wobbly legs and all to get past us. We weren’t able to find its mother and hope the mom was there and didn’t abandon it for its eye. They’re so cute.

    Anyhow, great interview Lala!

    Like

  6. Lala, I love your writing and I believe you are on the verge of being a major star. Your books will make great movies. I expect some minor roles in the movies…none of your dark characters. I want to play the handsome, athletic, and wonderful men in the books.
    Chuck

    Like

  7. What a great interview! Awesome questions and answers.

    As an interesting aside, I read this morning that Goldie Hawn is a direct descendent of one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence. Some of that super smart DNA must have lingered over the generations.

    Like

  8. Your mashup is fabulous, and I request a seat at that dinner party, please! 🙂

    Thank you for a wonderful interview, Lala! (And thank you, Chuck, for visiting as well. So nice. Btw, what was YOUR response to the deer in the house?)

    Like

  9. Thanks, Peg! And Cynthia, I’m guessing your are asking Chuck of his response to the deer in the house. I can tell you that Chuck is SO EASY GOING. And I can tell you that I’ve never seen him jaw drop quite so low!

    And thank you for the fun and unique questions! You made me think, and that’s a GOOD thing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

