The Power of a Makeover

One of my friends recently told me she felt she was in need of a makeover. She cut and colored her hair, sprung for the foundation for a new wardrobe, and even renovated her office. When she showed me a picture of herself post-changes, my reaction was, “you look completely different!” Which, I’m guessing, was the point.

My friend’s personal renovation got me thinking about our collective love of the makeover. Why is the concept of changing our appearance so attractive? Because when we change our appearance, we see something different in the mirror. We no longer see yesterday’s failures, but we can imagine tomorrow’s successes. For the briefest of moments, when we are literally faced with the shock of change, we are shaken out of our comfort zone into a world of possibilities.

Last year I left the company where I’ve worked for 17 years. A generous discount, a clothing allowance, and first choice of new sale items left me with the appropriate wardrobe for the job I was doing. But while leaving that career was an ending, it also represented the beginning of the rest of my life. Does that mean it’s time for me to makeover/renovate/shed my skin in order to embrace this new start? When I look in the mirror, I see the same person I saw 6 months ago. Is that who I am now?

Yes and no. Yes, I’m me. I’m the same person who loves the Go-Gos, owns all the Trixie Beldens, and is drawn to bright colors. But I’m not the person who was tied to the rules of a company anymore. If I wanted to, I could dye my hair blue, drink champagne with breakfast, and wear Moon Boots every day. But just because I can, does that mean I should?

So many of us are looking for our own new beginnings. Some of us are starting a new career. Some of us are retiring from one. Some of us are getting married/ divorced/ having children. Some of us are writing “Chapter One,” and some of us are writing “The End.” But wherever we are in life, we have a chance to look in the mirror and see the possibilities of the future.

And that is the power of a makeover.

Author: Diane Vallere

Diane is the author of four mystery series. Like her character Samantha Kidd, she is a former fashion buyer; like her character Madison Night, she loves Doris Day movies, like her character Polyester Monroe, she lives in California; and like her character Margo Tamblyn, she has a thing for costumes. Find out more at http://dianevallere.com/.

8 thoughts on “The Power of a Makeover”

  1. How true. I think this is one reason why makeover shows, either homes or people, are so popular. It’s like pushing a reset button. Still you, still your home – but different (and hopefully in a good way).

    Like

  2. I’m with Theresa in that I’m a re-arranger. My poor family can’t find things half the time because I’ve “organized” the items. (Again.) But, a good makeover can be so invigorating! Sarah is right–it feels good sometimes.

    Like

  3. Hey all! I forgot to mention that I also did a “Get Rid of 100 Things” challenge to kick off the new year. I’m at 91, so I’ll get there shortly. It does feel good to clear things out and start fresh.

    Like

  4. “Get Rid of 100 Things Challenge” was born out of the need to reduce clutter and free up energies attached to inanimate objects. There’s something awesome about addressing stuff that’s been under the bed or shoved in a cabinet for years and saying “I don’t need this.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

