Interview: Alan Cupp

Please welcome Alan Cupp, author of Malicious Masquerade and other tales of adventure and suspense. 

What’s your idea of a perfect day?
Wake up with some “quality time” with my wife, read a chapter or two from the Bible, shower, breakfast with my family, work omaliciousmasqueradeut, lunch at my favorite local spot Everything Bagel, get hit with the perfect idea for a new phenomenal novel, hang out with friends playing some type of sport (Ultimate Frisbee, softball, volleyball), followed by another shower, then dinner with family (home or out) and close out the day the same way it started, with my wife.

Do you have a signature accessory, color, fragrance, phrase, or meal?
No, I can’t say that I do.

Excluding family, name three people who either inspired you or influenced your creativity.
Kris Kristofferson, Steve Martin, and John Grisham

Do you listen to music when you write?
Sometimes. It kind of depends on how well the creative juices are flowing. If I’m struggling on a particular day, I might prefer a more quiet environment to help me focus.

If your latest book were chocolate, what kind would it be and why?
Definitely dark chocolate because it’s my favorite.

What made you interested in writing this particular story?
I wanted to write something that had a unique motive that would drive someone to extreme measures to pursue revenge.

What themes do you regularly (re)visit in your writing?
I like protagonists who, despite their temptations to do otherwise, still live principled lives and are willing to make unselfish decisions based on what’s the right thing to do.

Tell us about your main character’s psyche or personality. What led her (or him) to be the person s/he is today?
Carter is confident without being cocky. He’s respectful, grounded, and able to keep his cool through most situations. His parents, particularly his dad who is a retired police officer, influenced much of who he is as an adult.

Describe your protagonist as a mash-up of three famous people or characters.
Harrison Ford, Clint Eastwood, Denzel Washington

If you could host a mystery-author dinner party, who are the six writers (living or otherwise) you’d include?
That’s a tough question. I’d have to invite my fellow Henery Press writers because I feel the closest to them. They’re the ones who have been there through this journey of getting Malicious Masquerade in the hands of readers. Technically, that’s a few more than six, but I figure it’s my party, so I can do that. We may have to squeeze in a little to get everyone around the dinner table, but that’s okay.

What’s next for you?
I usually have one or two manuscripts in process. I’ve been working on one for a while now that I’m pretty excited about. Unfortunately, I’ve hit a bit of a wall, but I’ll get over it. That’s just part of writing.

Thank you for having me on Mysteristas today. I had fun and appreciate it.

***

Alan Cupp loves to create and entertain, whether it’s with a captivating mystery novel or a funny promotional video for his church, he’s always anticipating his next creative endeavor. In addition to writing fiction, Alan enjoys acting, music, travel, and playing sports. His life’s motto is, “It’s better to wear out than rust out.” Alan places a high value on time spent with his beautiful wife and their two sons. He lives his life according to his 4F philosophy: Faith, Family, Friends, and Fun.

For more information, please visit him online.

Website:www.alancupp.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Alan-Cupp-Fiction/255994667763399
Twitter: @AlanCupp

9 thoughts on “Interview: Alan Cupp”

  1. Thanks so much for visiting us, Alan! The book sounds great. (And if Carter is a mash-up of Harrison Ford, Clint Eastwood, and Denzel Washington, I’m swooning a little bit already.)

    Like

  2. Hi Alan, I love a protagonist with a moral compass, too. And where did you get that motto? My grandmother used to say that all the time! I understand hitting a wall. I think I need a little down time from writing from time to time to prime the pump.

    Like

  3. I don’t remember where I got that motto, but I liked it so much I adopted it as my own. And yes, I think a little down time from writing is a good way to charge the creative battery. Thank you for the comment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

