Interview: Lorraine Bartlett

We are delighted to welcome Lorraine Bartlett, author of the Victoria Square series, the Telenia trilogy, the Booktown Mystery series (as Lorna Barrett), and the Jeff Resnick Mysteries (as L.L. Bartlett). murderonthehalfshelf

What’s your idea of a perfect day?
Waffles and bacon for breakfast; finding bargains at yard sales; lunch at a bayside restaurant; an afternoon reading in my favorite chair, and happy hour watching the sun set.

Do you have a signature accessory, color, fragrance, phrase, or meal?
I wear 13 silver rings, five of which my late father made for me.  Funny thing, I rarely get any comments about them.

Excluding family, name three people who either inspired you or influenced your creativity.
Barbara Michaels, Dick Francis, and Constance Faddis, my first editor.

Do you listen to music when you write?
Yes.  Usually I listen to new age or sounds-of-nature music, but today I’m listening to the Superman soundtrack.  Yesterday I had classical music on.  But it’s always something without lyrics.  They’re too distracting.

If your latest book were chocolate, what kind would it be and why?
I’m not much of a connoisseur.  I’m perfectly happy with Russell Stover or Whitman’s.  I love See’s Chocolates.  I was once given a box of Godiva chocolates, but when I opened them, they were all white, and had melted.  The giver was extremely embarrassed and returned them.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t given a replacement box.  : (

What made you interested in writing this particular story?
My contract. Also, I love that my characters are successful businesswomen.  I love exploring various aspects of how they conduct business, and their successes and failures.

What themes do you regularly (re)visit in your writing?
Family relationships.  The one I enjoy the most is the one between my characters Jeff Resnick and his older, half-brother Richard Alpert.  I am never bored by them, and can’t wait until I can devote time to finish my next book in the series, A Leap of Faith.

Tell us about your main character’s psyche or personality. What led her (or him) to be the person s/he is today?
If we’re talking about the Booktown Mysteries, Tricia has carried a lot of baggage about the strained relationship she has with her mother.  She’s finally found out why in the next book in the series (Book Clubbed, which will be released a year from now).

Describe your protagonist as a mash-up of three famous people or characters.
I like to think my characters are original.

If you could host a mystery-author dinner party, who are the six writers (living or otherwise) you’d include?
I’d just as soon have dinner with my blog sisters (7 mystery writers):  Jennifer Stanley (Ellery Adams), Leann Sweeney, Deb Baker, Julie Hyzy, Kate Collins, Heather Webber, and Maggie Sefton.  (And I wouldn’t mind if Mary Jane Maffini joined us, either.)

What’s next for you?
I’m working on VIctoria Square #4, currently untitled.  Then I’ll work on A Leap of Faith, and jump back into the 9th Booktown mystery.  In between, I have several other projects started.  I need more time in the day.

***

The immensely popular Booktown Mystery series is what put Lorraine Bartlett’s pen name Lorna Barrett on the New York Times Bestseller list, but it’s her talent — whether writing as Lorna, or L.L. Bartlett, or Lorraine Bartlett — that keeps her there. This multi-published, Agatha-nominated author pens the exciting Jeff Resnick Mysteries as well as the acclaimed Victoria Square Mystery series and has many short stories and novellas to her name(s). Her next release is Not The Killing Type, under the name Lorna Barrett, on July 2nd.

Check out the links to all her works here: http://www.lorrainebartlett.com.

You can find her on Facebook ( https://www.facebook.com/LorraineBartlett.author ) Goodreads, and Twitter (@LorraineBartlet).

6 thoughts on “Interview: Lorraine Bartlett

  1. Thanks for stopping! Four series under three names? I’m impressed! Do you ever have trouble keeping them straight?

  2. Waffles and bacon for breakfast followed by finding treasures at yard sales? We could so hang out. I admire your productivity!

  3. Loved learning more about Lorraine Bartlett and her work. Three series with three author names is amazing. I’m just beginning to get out three series, but I use my own name for all of them. I can’t imagine keeping everything strait otherwise, and wonder if you ever sign the wrong name to a book at signings. I know I would!

  4. That’s a good point about signing the wrong name to the wrong series! I’d never keep them straight, either, which just goes to show that Lorraine/Lorna/L.L have a lot more on the ball than I do. I have to say I just love your Jeff Resnick series. I think the psychic element is very well done. I hadn’t yet heard about the Telena series; I’ll be looking those up shortly. Great to have you here, Lorraine!

  5. Great interview! Thirteen rings is very cool. I love your books–the Booktown Mysteries especially– and am looking forward to the next one!

    Thanks so much for visiting us.

  6. Nice interview.

Leave a Reply

